

SENATE BILL 36: China Grove Even Year Elections.

2025-2026 General Assembly

Committee:Senate Rules and Operations of the SenateDate:March 19, 2025Introduced by:Sen. FordPrepared by:William BrewerAnalysis of:Second EditionStaff Attorney

OVERVIEW: Senate Bill 36 would change the regular municipal election cycle from odd-numbered years to even-numbered years for the Town of China Grove, beginning with the 2026 election, and extend the terms of the current Mayor and Aldermen by one year to implement the new election cycle.

CURRENT LAW: G.S. 163-279 provides for odd-numbered year municipal elections statewide, creating a default rule for the timing of municipal elections. Officers for the Town of China Grove consist of a Mayor that serves a four-year term and five Aldermen that serve staggered four-year terms. The Town of China Grove conducts municipal elections in odd-numbered years at the time of the general election. Elections are conducted using the nonpartisan plurality method.

BILL ANALYSIS: The bill would amend the Charter for the Town of China Grove to require municipal elections to be held in even-numbered years beginning in 2026. To implement this change, municipal elections would not be conducted in the Town of China Grove in 2025 and the next municipal elections would be conducted in the Town of China Grove in 2026. Terms of office would be extended as follows:

- The terms of the three Aldermen whose terms are set to expire in 2025 would be extended until 2026.
- The terms of the Mayor and two Aldermen whose terms are set to expire in 2027 would be extended until 2028.

EFFECTIVE DATE: Effective when it becomes law and applies to elections held on or after that date.

BACKGROUND: China Grove is a town in Rowan County with a population of 4,434 as of the 2020 decennial Census. The contents of this bill are similar to those in House Bill 32, China Grove Even Year Elections, which is currently in the Committee on Rules and Operation of the Senate.

William Brewer substantially contributed to this summary.

Kara McCraw Director



Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578