

HOUSE BILL 6: Pamlico Co. Muni. Even-Yr. Elect.

2025-2026 General Assembly

Committee: House Rules, Calendar, and Operations of the Date: March 4, 2025

House

Introduced by:Rep. KidwellPrepared by:Hillary WoodardAnalysis of:Second EditionStaff Attorney

OVERVIEW: House Bill 6 would provide that municipal elections for every town in Pamlico County be held in even-numbered years at the time of the general election.

CURRENT LAW: The following chart summarizes the current town officers, terms of office, and method of election in the Towns of Alliance, Arapahoe, Bayboro, Grantsboro, Mesic, Minnesott Beach, Oriental, Stonewall, and Vandemere.

Unit of Government	Officers	Term of Offices	Election of Current Members	Method of Election
Town of Alliance	Board of Commissioners (5 members)	Commissioners: two years	Commissioners: Elected in 2023	Nonpartisan plurality
	The Commissioner receiving the most votes is selected as Mayor.			
Town of Arapahoe	Mayor Board of Commissioners (5 members)	Mayor: two years Commissioners: two years	Mayor: Elected in 2023 Commissioners: Elected in 2023	Nonpartisan plurality
Town of Bayboro	Mayor Town Commissioners (5 members)	Mayor: four years Commissioners: four years, staggered	Mayor: Elected in 2021 Commissioners: Two Commissioners elected in 2021, three Commissioners elected in 2023	Nonpartisan plurality
Town of Grantsboro	Mayor Council Members (5 members)	Mayor: four years Council Members: four years, not staggered	Mayor: Elected in 2023 Council Members: Elected in 2023	Nonpartisan plurality

Kara McCraw Director



Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578

House Bill 6

Page 2

Town of Mesic	Mayor Board of Commissioners (5 members)	Mayor: two years Commissioners: two years	Mayor: Elected in 2023 Commissioners: Elected in 2023	Nonpartisan plurality
Town of Minnesott Beach	Mayor Board of Commissioners (4 members)	Mayor: two years Commissioners: two years	Mayor: Elected in 2023 Commissioners: Elected in 2023	Nonpartisan plurality
Town of Oriental	Mayor Board of Commissioners (5 members)	Mayor: two years Commissioners: two years	Mayor: Elected in 2023 Commissioners: Elected in 2023	Nonpartisan plurality
Town of Stonewall	Mayor Board of Commissioners (3 members)	Mayor: two years Commissioners: two years	Mayor: Elected in 2023 Commissioners: Elected in 2023	Nonpartisan plurality
Town of Vandemere	Mayor Board of Commissioners (5 members)	Mayor: two years Commissioners: two years	Mayor: Elected in 2023 Commissioners: Elected in 2023	Nonpartisan plurality

BILL ANALYSIS: House Bill 6 would provide that the municipal elections for every town in Pamlico County would be conducted in even-numbered years, beginning in the following years:

- ➤ For the Towns of Alliance, Arapahoe, Bayboro, Mesic, Minnesott Beach, Oriental, Stonewall, and Vandemere, with the 2026 elections. To implement this change, there would be no municipal elections for these Towns in 2025, and the current terms of office for the mayor and commissioners for each Town would be extended by one year. Regular municipal elections would resume in 2026 at the same time as the general election and would be conducted every two years thereafter. For the Town of Bayboro, the mayor and two of the commissioners would be elected in 2026 and three commissioners would be elected in 2028 to continue the staggering of terms.
- For Grantsboro, with the 2028 elections. To implement this change, there would be no municipal elections in 2027, and the current terms of office for the mayor and council members would be extended by one year. Regular municipal elections would resume in 2028 at the same time as the general election and would be conducted every four years thereafter.

House Bill 6

Page 3

EFFECTIVE DATE: Effective when it becomes law and applies to municipal elections held in the Towns of Alliance, Arapahoe, Bayboro, Grantsboro, Mesic, Minnesott Beach, Oriental, Stonewall, and Vandemere on or after that date.