

SENATE BILL 776: Comm. Coll. Trustee Terms/Region 2.

2023-2024 General Assembly

Committee: Senate Rules and Operations of the Senate **Date:** May 1, 2024

Introduced by: Sens. Jarvis, Corbin, Moffitt

Prepared by: Samantha Yarborough

Analysis of: First Edition Staff Attorney

OVERVIEW: Senate Bill 776 would realign the terms of office for members of the Boards of Trustees for Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College, Blue Ridge Community College, Davidson-Davie Community College, Southwestern Community College, and Tri-County Community College to comply with the statutory staggering of terms.

CURRENT LAW: G.S. 115D-12, as amended by Section 6.10(n) of S.L. 2023-134, requires the boards of trustees of each community college to be composed of the following voting members:

- Eight trustees appointed by the General Assembly, with one appointed upon the recommendation
 of the Speaker and one appointed upon the recommendation of the President Pro Tempore
 annually.
- Four trustees elected by the board of commissioners of the county in which the main campus of the college is located.
- Two trustees elected by a board of commissioners in the service area of the college that provides plant funds to the college.

G.S. 115D-13 establishes that trustees are elected to 4-year terms and creates the initial staggering of the terms of office so that a balanced number of seats expire each year.

BILL ANALYSIS: To reestablish the staggering of 4-year terms on the boards of trustees, Senate Bill 776 would make the following changes:

Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College

• The Madison County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 1-year term in 2025.

Blue Ridge Community College

- The Henderson County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 3-year term in 2025 and one 3-year term in 2027.
- The General Assembly, upon recommendation of the Speaker, will appoint to one 3-year term in 2025 and one 3-year term in 2027.

Davidson-Davie Community College

- The General Assembly, upon recommendation of the Speaker, will appoint to one 1-year term in 2024.
- The Davie County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 2-year term in 2026.

Jeffrey Hudson Director



Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578

This bill analysis was prepared by the nonpartisan legislative staff for the use of legislators in their deliberations and does not constitute an official statement of legislative intent.

Southwestern Community College

- The Macon County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 1-year term in 2024.
- The Jackson County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 1-year term in 2026.
- The Swain County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 2-year term in 2024.

Tri-County Community College

- The Clay County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 1-year term and one 3-year term in 2024.
- The Graham County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 2-year term in 2024.
- The Cherokee County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 3-year term in 2024.

Any term of office that is not revised by Senate Bill 776 will expire at the end of the previously appointed or elected term. Any additional trustee seats required to be elected by a board of county commissioners by Section 6.10 of S.L. 2023-134 not otherwise addressed in Senate Bill 776 will have a term of office beginning July 1, 2024, and expiring June 30, 2028. Upon the expiration of the terms addressed in Senate Bill 776, successors will be appointed to 4-year terms in accordance with G.S. 115D-13.

EFFECTIVE DATE: Senate Bill 776 would be effective when it becomes law.