

SENATE BILL 772: Comm. Coll. Trustee Terms/Region 3.

2023-2024 General Assembly

Committee:	House Rules, Calendar, and Operations of the	Date:	June 5, 2024
	House		
Introduced by:	Sens. Sawrey, Lee	Prepared by:	Kara McCraw*
Analysis of:	Second Edition		Staff Attorney

OVERVIEW: The 2nd Edition of Senate Bill 772 would realign the terms of office for members of the Boards of Trustees for Bladen Community College, Cape Fear Community College, Central Carolina Community College, James Sprunt Community College, Johnston Community College, Lenoir Community College, Pitt Community College, and Sandhills Community College to comply with the statutory staggering of terms.

CURRENT LAW: G.S. 115D-12, as amended by Section 6.10(n) of S.L. 2023-134, requires the boards of trustees of each community college to be composed of the following voting members:

- Eight trustees appointed by the General Assembly, with one appointed upon the recommendation of the Speaker and one appointed upon the recommendation of the President Pro Tempore annually.
- Four trustees elected by the board of commissioners of the county in which the main campus of the college is located.
- Two trustees elected by a board of commissioners in the service area of the college that provides plant funds to the college.

G.S. 115D-13 establishes that trustees are elected to 4-year terms and creates the initial staggering of the terms of office so that a balanced number of seats expire each year.

BILL ANALYSIS: To reestablish the staggering of 4-year terms on the boards of trustees, Senate Bill 772 would make the following changes:

Bladen Community College

- The Bladen County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 2-year term in 2025 and one 2-year term in 2026.
- The General Assembly, upon recommendation of the Speaker, will appoint to one 2-year term in 2026 and one 2-year term in 2027.

Cape Fear Community College

• The Pender County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 3-year term in 2024.

Central Carolina Community College

- The Chatham County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 2-year term in 2025.
- The Harnett County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 1-year term and one 3-year term in 2025.

James Sprunt Community College

Jeffrey Hudson Director



Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578

This bill analysis was prepared by the nonpartisan legislative staff for the use of legislators in their deliberations and does not constitute an official statement of legislative intent.

Senate Bill 772

Page 2

• The Duplin County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 2-year term in 2025.

Johnston Community College

- Two terms appointed by the Governor are extended one by 1 year and one by 2 years.
- One term elected by the Johnston County Board of Commissioners will expire June 30, 2026.
- One term elected by the Johnston County Board of Education will expire June 30, 2026.

Lenoir Community College

• The Greene County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 1-year term in 2025.

Pitt Community College

- The Pitt County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 1-year term in 2025.
- The General Assembly, upon recommendation of the Speaker, will appoint to one 1-year term in 2025.

Sandhills Community College

• The additional term elected by the Hoke County Board of Commissioners in 2024 will expire June 30, 2027.

Any term of office that is not revised by Senate Bill 772 will expire at the end of the previously appointed or elected term. Any additional trustee seats required to be elected by a board of county commissioners by Section 6.10 of S.L. 2023-134 not otherwise addressed in Senate Bill 772 will have a term of office beginning July 1, 2024, and expiring June 30, 2028. Upon the expiration of the terms addressed in Senate Bill 772, successors will be appointed to 4-year terms in accordance with G.S. 115D-13.

EFFECTIVE DATE: Senate Bill 772 would be effective when it becomes law.

*This summary was substantially contributed to by Samantha Yarborough, Staff Attorney.