

SENATE BILL 769: Comm. Coll. Trustee Terms/Region 1.

2023-2024 General Assembly

Committee: House Rules, Calendar, and Operations of the Date: June 5, 2024

House

Introduced by: Sens. Hanig, Sanderson Prepared by: Kara McCraw Analysis of: Third Edition Staff Attorney

OVERVIEW: The 3rd Edition of Senate Bill 769 would realign the terms of office for members of the Boards of Trustees for College of the Albemarle, Halifax Community College, and Roanoke-Chowan Community College.

CURRENT LAW: G.S. 115D-12, as amended by Section 6.10(n) of S.L. 2023-134, requires the boards of trustees of each community college to be composed of the following voting members:

- Eight trustees appointed by the General Assembly, with one appointed upon the recommendation
 of the Speaker and one appointed upon the recommendation of the President Pro Tempore
 annually.
- Four trustees elected by the board of commissioners of the county in which the main campus of the college is located.
- Two trustees elected by a board of commissioners in the service area of the college that provides plant funds to the college.

G.S. 115D-13 establishes that trustees are elected to 4-year terms and creates the initial staggering of the terms of office so that a balanced number of seats expire each year.

BILL ANALYSIS: To reestablish the staggering of 4-year terms on the boards of trustees, Senate Bill 769 would make the following changes:

College of the Albemarle

- The Chowan County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 1-year term in 2024.
- The Dare County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 1-year term in 2025.
- The Currituck County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 2-year term in 2024.
- The Gates County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 2-year term in 2024.
- The Camden County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 3-year term in 2024.
- The Perquimans County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 3-year term in 2024.

Halifax Community College

• The Northampton County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 2-year term in 2024.

Roanoke-Chowan Community College

- The Northampton County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 1-year term in 2024 and one 3-year term in 2027.
- The Bertie County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 2-year term in 2024.

Jeffrey Hudson Director



Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578

Senate 769 PCS

Page 2

Any term of office that is not revised by Senate Bill 769 will expire at the end of the previously appointed or elected term. Any additional trustee seats required to be elected by a board of county commissioners by Section 6.10 of S.L. 2023-134 not otherwise addressed in Senate Bill 769 will have a term of office beginning July 1, 2024, and expiring June 30, 2028. Upon the expiration of the terms addressed in Senate Bill 769, successors will be appointed to 4-year terms in accordance with G.S. 115D-13.

EFFECTIVE DATE: Senate Bill 769 would be effective when it becomes law.

*This summary was substantially contributed to by Samantha Yarborough, Staff Attorney.