

SENATE BILL 764: Comm. Coll. Trustee Terms/Region 4.

2023-2024 General Assembly

Committee: Senate State and Local Government. If Date: April 30, 2024

favorable, re-refer to Rules and Operations of

the Senate

Introduced by: Sens. Barnes, Ford, Craven Prepared by: Samantha Yarborough

Analysis of: First Edition Staff Attorney

OVERVIEW: Senate Bill 764 would realign the terms of office for members of the Boards of Trustees for Durham Technical Community College, Piedmont Community College, Richmond Community College, Rowan-Cabarrus Community College, South Piedmont Community College, and Vance-Granville Community College to comply with the statutory staggering of terms.

CURRENT LAW: G.S. 115D-12, as amended by Section 6.10(n) of S.L. 2023-134, requires the boards of trustees of each community college to be composed of the following voting members:

- Eight trustees appointed by the General Assembly, with one appointed upon the recommendation of the Speaker and one appointed upon the recommendation of the President Pro Tempore annually.
- Four trustees elected by the board of commissioners of the county in which the main campus of the college is located.
- Two trustees elected by a board of commissioners in the service area of the college that provides plant funds to the college.

G.S. 115D-13 establishes that trustees are elected to 4-year terms and creates the initial staggering of the terms of office so that a balanced number of seats expire each year.

Sections 6.10(s) and (t) of S.L. 2023-134 create local exceptions to G.S. 115D-12 for South Piedmont Community College and Vance-Granville Community College to adjust the division of seats elected by the boards of commissioners in the service areas of the college.

BILL ANALYSIS: To reestablish the staggering of 4-year terms on the boards of trustees, Senate Bill 764 would make the following changes:

Durham Technical Community College

- The Orange County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 2-year term in 2024.
- The Durham County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 1-year term and one 2-year term in 2025.
- The General Assembly, upon recommendation of the Speaker, will appoint to one 1-year term in 2025.

Piedmont Community College

• The Caswell County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 1-year term in 2026.

Jeffrey Hudson Director



Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578

Senate Bill 764

Page 2

Richmond Community College

• The Scotland County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 1-year term in 2025.

Rowan-Cabarrus Community College

• The Cabarrus County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 2-year term in 2025.

South Piedmont Community College

• The Anson County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 1-year term in 2024.

Vance-Granville Community College

- The Granville County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 1-year term in 2024.
- The General Assembly, upon recommendation of the Speaker, will appoint to one 1-year term in 2024.
- The Franklin County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 2-year term in 2024.
- The Vance County Board of Commissioners will elect to one 3-year term in 2024.

Any term of office that is not revised by Senate Bill 764 will expire at the end of the previously appointed or elected term. Any additional trustee seats required to be elected by a board of county commissioners by Section 6.10 of S.L. 2023-134 not otherwise addressed in Senate Bill 764 will have a term of office beginning July 1, 2024, and expiring June 30, 2028. Upon the expiration of the terms addressed in Senate Bill 764, successors will be appointed to 4-year terms in accordance with G.S. 115D-13.

EFFECTIVE DATE: Senate Bill 764 would be effective when it becomes law.