

SENATE BILL 265:

Increase Municipal Election Participation Act.

2023-2024 General Assembly

Committee: Senate Redistricting and Elections. If Date: March 29, 2023

favorable, re-refer to Rules and Operations of

the Senate

Introduced by: Sen. Moffitt

Prepared by: Jessica Sammons

Analysis of: Amendment to First Edition Staff Attorney

S265-ABK-13

OVERVIEW: The amendment would do the following:

➤ Change the time of elections for the municipalities of Flat Rock, Fletcher, Hendersonville, Laurel Park, Mills River, Columbus, Saluda, Tryon, Bostic, Chimney Rock, Ellenboro, Forest City, Lake Lure, Ruth, Rutherfordton, and Spindale (all municipalities in Henderson, Polk, and Rutherford Counties) to even-years, beginning in 2024.

- Extend the term of office for the Mayor of the Town of Tryon from two years to four years, beginning in 2024.
- Extend the term of office for the Mayor and Commissioners for the Town of Ruth from two years to four years, beginning in 2024.

CURRENT LAW: The following chart summarizes the current town officers, terms of office, and method of election in the Village of Flat Rock, Town of Fletcher, City of Hendersonville, Town of Laurel Park, Town of Mills River, Town of Columbus, City of Saluda, Town of Tryon, Town of Bostic, Chimney Rock Village, Town of Ellenboro, Town of Forest City, Town of Lake Lure, Town of Ruth, Town of Rutherfordton, and Town of Spindale.

Unit of Government	Officers	Term of Offices	Election of Current Members	Method of Election
Village of Flat Rock (Henderson County)	Mayor Village Council (6 members)	Mayor: four years Council: four years, staggered	Mayor: Elected in 2019 Council: Three elected in 2021 & three elected in 2019	Nonpartisan primary and election
Town of Fletcher (Henderson County)	Mayor Town Council (4 members)	Mayor: four years Council: four years, staggered	Mayor: Elected in 2021 Council: Two elected in 2021 & two elected in 2019	Nonpartisan primary and election
City of Hendersonville (Henderson County)	Mayor City Council (4 members)	Mayor: four years Council: four years, staggered	Mayor: Elected in 2021 Council: Two elected in 2021 & two elected in 2019	Nonpartisan primary and election

Jeffrey Hudson Director



Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578

Senate 265 Amendment

Page 2

Town of Laurel Park (Henderson County) Town of Mills River	Mayor Town Council (4 members) Town Council (5 members)	Mayor: four years Council: four years, staggered Mayor: serves at pleasure of Council	Mayor: Elected in 2019 Council: Two elected in 2021 & two elected in 2019 Council: Three elected in 2021 & two elected in	Nonpartisan plurality Nonpartisan plurality
(Henderson County)	Council elects one of its members to serve as Mayor	Council: four years, staggered	2019	
Town of Columbus (Polk County)	Mayor Town Council (4 members)	Mayor: two years Council: four or two years, depending on number of votes candidate received	Mayor: Elected in 2021 Council: Three elected in 2021; one for a four-year term & two for two-year terms	Nonpartisan plurality
City of Saluda (Polk County)	Mayor City Commissioners (4 members)	Mayor: four years Council: four years, staggered	Mayor: Elected in 2021 Council: Two elected in 2021 & two elected in 2019	Nonpartisan plurality
Town of Tryon (Polk County)	Mayor Board of Commissioners (4 members)	Mayor: two years Commissioners: four years, staggered	Mayor: Elected in 2021 Commissioners: Two elected in 2021 & two elected in 2019	Nonpartisan plurality
Town of Bostic (Rutherford County)	Mayor Board of Commissioners (5 members)	Mayor: four years Commissioners: four years, staggered	Mayor: Elected in 2021 Commissioners: Two elected in 2021 & three elected in 2019	Nonpartisan plurality
Chimney Rock Village (Rutherford County)	Village Council (5 members) Council elects one of its members to serve as Mayor	Mayor: serves at pleasure of Council Council: four years, staggered	Council: Two elected in 2021 & three elected in 2019	Nonpartisan plurality
Town of Ellenboro (Rutherford County)	Mayor Town Council (5 members)	Mayor: four years Council: four years, staggered	Mayor: Elected in 2019 Council: Three elected in 2021 & two elected in 2019	Nonpartisan plurality

Senate 265 Amendment

Page 3

Town of Forest City (Rutherford County)	Mayor Commissioners (5 members)	Mayor: four years Commissioners: four years, staggered	Mayor: Elected in 2021 Commissioners: Two elected in 2021 & three elected in 2019	Nonpartisan plurality
Town of Lake Lure (Rutherford County)	Mayor Commissioners (4 members)	Mayor: two years Board of Commissioners: four years, staggered	Mayor: Elected in 2021 Commissioners: Two elected in 2021 & two elected in 2019	Nonpartisan plurality
Town of Ruth (Rutherford County)	Mayor Commissioners (2 members)	Mayor: two years Commissioners: two years	Mayor: Elected in 2021 Commissioners: Elected in 2021	Nonpartisan plurality
Town of Rutherfordton (Rutherford County)	Mayor Town Council (4 members)	Mayor: four years Council: four years, staggered	Mayor: Elected in 2021 Council: Two elected in 2021 & two elected in 2019	Nonpartisan plurality
Town of Spindale (Rutherford County)	Mayor Commissioners (5 members)	Mayor: four years Commissioners: four years, staggered	Mayor: Elected in 2021 Commissioners: Two elected in 2021 & three elected in 2019	Nonpartisan plurality

BILL ANALYSIS: The amendment would do the following:

- ➤ Provide that municipal elections in the municipalities listed above would be conducted in the evennumbered years, beginning with the 2024 elections. To implement this change, there would be no municipal election in the municipalities listed above in 2023, and the current terms of officers would be increased by one year. Regular municipal elections would resume in 2024 at the same time as the general election.
- For the Town of Tryon, extend the terms of office for the Mayor from two years to four years, beginning in 2024.
- For the Town of Ruth, extend the term of office for the Mayor and Commissioners for the Town of Ruth from two years to four years, beginning in 2024.

EFFECTIVE DATE: Effective when it becomes law and applies to elections held on or after that date.

BACKGROUND: G.S. 163-279 establishes a statewide default rule for the timing of municipal elections as odd-numbered years.