

HOUSE BILL 57: Omnibus Local Changes.

2023-2024 General Assembly

Committee:	Senate Rules and Operations of the Senate	Date:	June 22, 2023
Introduced by:	Rep. Balkcom	Prepared by:	Nicholas Giddings and
Analysis of:	Second Edition		Jessica Sammons
			Staff Attorneys

OVERVIEW: House Bill 57 would do the following:

- Authorize the City of Hendersonville to expand the use of proceeds collected from on-street parking meters to fund any capital projects.
- Provide for even-year elections and extend the terms of elected officers to a four-year term in the Towns of Harmony and Love Valley.

[As introduced, this bill was identical to S68, as introduced by Sen. Moffitt, which is currently in Senate Finance.]

CURRENT LAW/BILL ANALYSIS:

PART I – Effective when law

Cities in North Carolina may use proceeds from parking meters on public streets only to defray the cost of enforcing and administering traffic and parking ordinances and regulations.

PART I of House Bill 57 would authorize the City of Hendersonville to expand the use of proceeds from charging for on-street parking to fund any capital projects, in addition to defraying the cost of enforcing and administering traffic and parking ordinances and regulations.

PARTS II and III – Effective when law and applies to elections held on or after that date

G.S. 163-279 establishes a statewide default rule for the timing of municipal elections as the odd-numbered years. The Town of Harmony is represented by a mayor and four council members serving two-year terms. The Town of Love Valley is represented by a mayor and five commissioners serving two-year terms.

The Towns of Harmony and Love Valley conduct municipal elections in odd-numbered years using the nonpartisan plurality method. Elected officials remain in office until their successors are elected and qualified. All current terms of office for elected officials in these towns end in 2023.

PARTS II and III of House Bill 57 would do the following:

- Extend the term of office for elected officers in the Town of Harmony and the Town of Love Valley to staggered four-year terms.
- Change municipal elections in the Town of Harmony and the Town of Love Valley to evennumbered years, beginning in 2024.

Jeffrey Hudson Director



Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578

This bill analysis was prepared by the nonpartisan legislative staff for the use of legislators in their deliberations and does not constitute an official statement of legislative intent.

House Bill 57

Page 2

To implement this change in the Town of <u>Harmony</u>, in the municipal election in 2023, the mayor and four council members would be elected for a one-year term. Regular municipal elections would be conducted in 2024. In the 2024 election, a mayor would be elected for a four-year term, and four council members would be elected. The two candidates receiving the highest number of votes would serve a four-year term, and the two candidates receiving the next highest number of votes would serve a two-year term. Staggered four-year terms for council members would begin in 2026.

To implement this change in the Town of <u>Love Valley</u>, in the municipal election in 2023, the mayor and five commissioners would be elected for a one-year term. Regular municipal elections would be conducted in 2024. In the 2024 election, a mayor would be elected for a four-year term, and five commissioners would be elected. The two candidates receiving the highest number of votes would serve a four-year term, and the three candidates receiving the next highest number of votes would serve a two-year term. Staggered four-year terms for commissioners would begin in 2026.

EFFECTIVE DATE: Except as otherwise provided, this act would be effective when it becomes law.

BACKGROUND: The General Assembly has granted the following municipalities authority to use the proceeds from parking meters on public streets for expanded purposes: Atlantic Beach (S.L. 2011-79); Beaufort (S.L. 2011-79); Carolina Beach (S.L. 2001-9); Holden Beach (S.L. 2022-38); Kure Beach (S.L. 2001-9); Sunset Beach (S.L. 2016-9); Surf City (S.L. 2021-46); Wrightsville Beach (S.L. 1998-86); Wilmington (S.L. 2001-9).