

HOUSE BILL 264: Partisan Election/Muni./Haywood & Madison Cos.

2023-2024 General Assembly

Committee:		Date:	May 3, 2023
Introduced by:	Reps. Pless, Clampitt, Kidwell	Prepared by:	Jessica Sammons
Analysis of:	PCS to First Edition		Staff Attorney
	H264-CSST-29		

OVERVIEW: The Proposed Committee Substitute (PCS) for House Bill 264 would change the method of election for all municipalities in Haywood and Madison Counties from nonpartisan to partisan.

CURRENT LAW: The following chart summarizes the current town officers, terms of office, and method of election in the Towns of Canton, Clyde, Maggie Valley, Waynesville, Hot Springs, Mars Hill, and Marshall.

Unit of Government	Officers	Term of Offices	Election of Current Members	Method of Election
Town of Canton	Mayor Board of Aldermen (4 members)	<u>Mayor</u> : four years <u>Aldermen:</u> four years, staggered	<u>Mayor:</u> Elected in 2021 <u>Aldermen:</u> Two elected in 2019 & two elected in 2021	Nonpartisan plurality
Town of Clyde	Mayor Board of Aldermen (4 members)	<u>Mayor:</u> four years <u>Aldermen:</u> four years, staggered	<u>Mayor:</u> Elected in 2019 <u>Aldermen:</u> Two elected in 2019 & two elected in 2021	Nonpartisan plurality
Town of Maggie Valley	Mayor Board of Aldermen (4 members)	<u>Mayor:</u> four years <u>Aldermen:</u> four years, staggered	<u>Mayor:</u> Elected in 2019 <u>Aldermen:</u> Two elected in 2019 & two elected in 2021	Nonpartisan plurality
Town of Waynesville	Mayor Board of Aldermen (4 members)	<u>Mayor:</u> four years <u>Aldermen:</u> four years	<u>Mayor:</u> Elected in 2019 <u>Aldermen:</u> Elected in 2019	Nonpartisan plurality

Jeffrey Hudson Director



Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578

This bill analysis was prepared by the nonpartisan legislative staff for the use of legislators in their deliberations and does not constitute an official statement of legislative intent.

House 264 PCS

Page 2

Town of Hot Springs	Mayor Board of Aldermen (3 members)	<u>Mayor:</u> two years <u>Aldermen:</u> two years	<u>Mayor:</u> Elected in 2021 <u>Aldermen</u> : Elected in 2021	Nonpartisan plurality
Town of Mars Hill	Mayor Board of Aldermen (4 members)	<u>Mayor:</u> four years <u>Aldermen:</u> four years, staggered	<u>Mayor:</u> Elected in 2021 <u>Aldermen</u> : Two elected in 2021 & two elected in 2019	Nonpartisan plurality
Town of Marshall	Mayor Board of Aldermen (5 members)	<u>Mayor:</u> two years <u>Aldermen</u> : four years, staggered	<u>Mayor:</u> Elected in 2021 <u>Aldermen:</u> Three elected in 2021 & two elected in 2019	Nonpartisan plurality

BILL ANALYSIS: The PCS would provide that beginning in 2023, municipal elections for all these towns other than the Town of Hot Springs, would be held on a partisan basis as provided in G.S. 163-291. Partisan elections for the Town of Hot Springs would begin with the 2025 municipal election. The election would be held on the Tuesday after the first Monday in November. The primary would be held on the second Tuesday after Labor Day, and the second primary, if required, would be held on the fourth Tuesday before the election.

EFFECTIVE DATE: Effective when it becomes law and applies to elections conducted in 2023 and thereafter except that it would apply to elections for the Town of Hot Springs beginning with the 2025 election.