

HOUSE BILL 152: Even Yr Elections/Maysville & Pollocksville.

2023-2024 General Assembly

| Committee: | House Rules, Calendar, and Operations of the House | Date: | February 28, 2023 |
|--------------------------------|--|--------------|--------------------------------------|
| Introduced by: Analysis of: | | Prepared by: | Jessica Sammons Alejandro Ramirez |
| Analysis UI. | Second Edition | | Staff Attorneys |

OVERVIEW: House Bill 152 would provide that municipal elections in the Towns of Maysville and Pollocksville be held in even numbered years.

[As introduced, this bill was identical to S59, as introduced by Sen. Lazzara, which is currently in Senate Redistricting and Elections.]

CURRENT LAW: G.S. 163-279 provides for odd-numbered year municipal elections statewide, creating a default rule for the timing of municipal elections. The Town of Maysville is represented by a mayor and five commissioners serving non-staggered four-year terms, and the Town of Pollocksville is represented by a mayor and five commissioners serving staggered four-year terms.

The Towns of Maysville and Pollocksville conduct municipal elections for the town commissioners and mayors in odd-numbered years as provided for in G.S. 163-279 using the nonpartisan plurality method, and elected officials remain in office until their successors are elected and qualified.

BILL ANALYSIS: The bill would change municipal elections for both the Town of Maysville and the Town of Pollocksville to even years.

To implement this change in the **Town of Maysville**:

- The terms of the mayor and of town commissioners set to expire in 2025 would be reduced by one year.
- Regular municipal elections for the mayor and the town commissioners would be conducted every four years at the same time as the general election in even years, beginning in 2024.

To implement this change in the **Town of Pollocksville**:

- The terms of the three commissioners set to expire in 2023 would be extended by one year.
- The terms of the two commissioners and the mayor set to expire in 2025 would be extended by one year.
- Regular municipal elections would be conducted in even years starting in 2024, with three commissioners elected in 2024 and quadrennially thereafter, and two elected in 2026 and quadrennially thereafter.

EFFECTIVE DATE: This act would be effective when it becomes law and would apply to elections held on or after the date.

Jeffrey Hudson Director



Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578

This bill analysis was prepared by the nonpartisan legislative staff for the use of legislators in their deliberations and does not constitute an official statement of legislative intent.

House Bill 152

Page 2

BACKGROUND: The Town of Maysville petitioned the General Assembly in Resolution 22-18 adopted on 10/06/22 to change its municipal elections to even years.

The Town of Pollocksville petitioned the General Assembly through a Resolution adopted on 11/08/22 to change its municipal elections to even years.

Regular municipal elections in most municipalities are held in odd-numbered years. The following municipalities hold regular municipal elections in even-numbered years:

- Albemarle, Badin, Locust, Misenheimer, New London, Norwood, Oakboro, Red Cross, Richfield, Stanfield (all municipalities in Stanly County) (S.L. 2015-253).
- Archdale (Randolph, Guilford Counties) (S.L. 2007-41).
- Asheville (Buncombe County) (S.L. 2018-123).
- Biltmore Forest, Black Mountain (Buncombe County) (S.L. 2019-27).
- Bridgeton, Cove City, Dover, Havelock, River Bend, Trent Woods (Craven County) (S.L. 2021-39).
- Dobson (Surry County) (S.L. 2012-47).
- Elkin (Surry, Wilkes Counties) (S.L. 2014-35).
- Hildebran (Burke County) (S.L. 2021-102).
- Jonesville, Boonville, East Bend (Yadkin County) (S.L. 2017-56).
- Lincolnton (Lincoln County) (S.L. 2017-62).
- Montreat (Buncombe County) (S.L. 2019-28).
- Mount Airy (Surry County) (S.L. 2021-27).
- Pilot Mountain (Surry County) (S.L. 2012-47).
- Raleigh (Wake County) (S.L. 2021-56).
- Ronda (Wilkes County) (S.L. 2019-27).
- Rutherford College (Burke County) (S.L. 2021-51).
- Troy, Star (Montgomery County) (S.L. 2017-12).
- Winston-Salem (Forsyth County) (S.L. 2011-141).