

SENATE BILL 51: Even-Year Elect Craven Local Gov'ts.

2021-2022 General Assembly

Committee:	House Election Law and Campaign Finance Reform. If favorable, re-refer to Rules, Calendar, and Operations of the House		June 9, 2021
Introduced by: Analysis of:	· 1	Prepared by:	Hillary Woodard Staff Attorney

OVERVIEW: The Proposed Committee Substitute (PCS) to Senate Bill 51 would change the regular municipal election cycle for the City of Havelock, the Towns of Bridgeton, Cove City, Dover, River Bend, and Trent Woods, and the election cycle for the First Craven Sanitary District from oddnumbered years to even-numbered years. The PCS to Senate Bill 51 would also extend the terms of the current officers by one year to implement the new election cycle.

CURRENT LAW: Generally, municipal elections are held in odd-numbered years. The City of Havelock and the Towns of River Bend, Trent Woods, Bridgeton, Cove City, and Dover conduct municipal elections in odd-numbered years, with the last municipal election occurring in the listed towns in November 2019.

The First Craven Sanitary District conducts elections in odd-numbered years, with the last election for members occurring in November 2019.

The following chart summarizes the current members and their terms of office in the City of Havelock, the Towns of Bridgeton, Cove City, Dover, River Bend, and Trent Woods, and the First Craven Sanitary District:

Local Government	Officers	Term of Officers	Current Terms of Members	Method of Election
City of Havelock	Mayor Board of Commissioners (5 members)	Mayor: four years Commissioners: four years, staggered	<u>Mayor:</u> term expires in 2023 <u>Commissioners</u> : two terms expire in 2021 and three terms expire in 2023	Nonpartisan plurality
Bridgeton	Mayor Board of Commissioners (4 members)	<u>Mayor:</u> two years <u>Commissioners:</u> two years	<u>Mayor</u> : term expires in 2021 <u>Commissioners</u> : terms expire in 2021	Nonpartisan plurality

Jeffrey Hudson Director



Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578

Senate PCS 51

Page 2

Cove City	Mayor Board of Alderman (5 alderman)	<u>Mayor</u> : four years <u>Alderman</u> : four years	<u>Mayor:</u> term expires in 2023 <u>Alderman</u> : terms expire in 2023	Nonpartisan plurality
Dover	Mayor Board of Alderman (5 alderman)	<u>Mayor:</u> two years <u>Alderman</u> : two years	<u>Mayor</u> : term expires in 2021 <u>Alderman</u> : terms expire in 2021	Nonpartisan plurality
River Bend	Mayor City Council (3 members)	<u>Mayor:</u> two years <u>Council members:</u> two years	<u>Mayor:</u> term expires in 2021 <u>Council members:</u> terms expire in 2021	Nonpartisan plurality
Trent Woods	Mayor Board of Town Commissioners (3 members, one of which is the mayor pro tempore)	<u>Mayor:</u> two years <u>Commissioners:</u> two years	<u>Mayor:</u> term expires in 2021 <u>Commissioners:</u> terms expire in 2021	Nonpartisan primary and election
First Craven Sanitary District	Members (5)	Four years, staggered	Two members' terms expire in 2021, and three members' terms expire in 2023	Nonpartisan plurality

BILL ANALYSIS: The PCS to Senate Bill 51 would amend the charters for the City of Havelock and the Towns of Bridgeton, Cove City, Dover, River Bend, and Trent Woods to require that municipal elections be held in even-numbered years, beginning in 2022. To implement this change, no municipal elections would be conducted in the listed municipalities in 2021 except for the Town of Cove City which has no municipal elections scheduled for 2021. No municipal elections would be conducted in the Town of Cove City in 2023. The terms of office for the governing members currently in office would be extended by one year.

The PCS to Senate Bill 51 would also modify elections for the First Craven Sanitary District. No elections would be conducted in the First Craven Sanitary District in 2021. The terms of office for the members set to expire in 2021 would be extended by one year.

EFFECTIVE DATE: This act is effective when it becomes law and applies to elections held on or after that date.

BACKGROUND: Regular municipal elections in most municipalities are held in odd-numbered years. The following municipalities hold regular municipal elections in even-numbered years:

- Albemarle, Badin, Locust, Misenheimer, New London, Norwood, Oakboro, Red Cross, Richfield, Stanfield (all municipalities in Stanly County) (S.L. 2015-253).
- Archdale (Randolph, Guilford Counties) (S.L. 2007-41).

Senate PCS 51

Page 3

- Asheville (Buncombe County) (S.L. 2018-123).
- Biltmore Forest, Black Mountain, (Buncombe County) and Ronda (Wilkes County) (S.L. 2019-27).
- Dobson (Surry County) (S.L. 2012-47).
- Elkin (Surry, Wilkes Counties) (S.L. 2014-35).
- Jonesville, Boonville, East Bend (Yadkin County) (S.L. 2017-56).
- Lincolnton (Lincoln County) (S.L. 2017-62).
- Montreat (Buncombe County) (S.L. 2019-28).
- Pilot Mountain (Surry County) (S.L. 2012-47).
- Troy, Star (Montgomery County) (S.L. 2017-12).
- Winston-Salem (Forsyth County) (S.L. 2011-141).

*Brad Krehely, Staff Attorney for the Legislative Analysis Division, contributed to the drafting of this summary.