

SENATE BILL 51: Even-Year Elections/Town of Trent Woods.

presented in

committee.

This Bill Analysis reflects the contents of the bill as it was

2021-2022 General Assembly

Committee: Redistricting and Elections. If Date: March 30, 2021 Senate

favorable, re-refer to Rules and Operations of

the Senate

Introduced by: Sen. Sanderson Prepared by: Hillary Woodard and

Analysis of: First Edition Jessica Sammons,

Committee Co-Counsel

OVERVIEW: Senate Bill 51 would change the regular municipal election cycle from odd-numbered years to even-numbered years for the Town of Trent Woods and would extend the terms of the current officers one year to implement the new election cycle.

CURRENT LAW: Generally, municipal elections are held in odd-numbered years. The Town of Trent Woods conducts municipal elections in odd-numbered years, with the last municipal election occurring November 2019. Elections are conducted on a nonpartisan primary and election method. G.S. 163-279(a)(3) and G.S. 163-294.

The following chart summarizes the current Town officers and their terms of office in the Town of Trent Woods:

City	Town Officers	Term of Officers	Current Terms of Officers
Trent Woods	Mayor	Mayor: two years	Mayor: term expires in 2021
(Craven Co.)	Board of Town Commissioners (3 members, one of which is the mayor pro tempore)	Commissioners: two years	Commissioners: terms expire in 2021

BILL ANALYSIS: Senate Bill 51 would amend the charter for the Town of Trent Woods to require that municipal elections be held in even-numbered years, beginning in 2022. To implement this change, no municipal elections would be conducted in the Town of Trent Woods in 2021, and the terms of office for the Mayor and Commissioners elected in 2019 would be extended by one year.

EFFECTIVE DATE: This act is effective when it becomes law and applies to elections held on or after that date.

BACKGROUND: Regular municipal elections in most municipalities are held in odd-numbered years. The following municipalities hold regular municipal elections in even-numbered years:

- Albemarle, Badin, Locust, Misenheimer, New London, Norwood, Oakboro, Red Cross, Richfield, Stanfield (all municipalities in Stanly County) (S.L. 2015-253).
- Archdale (Randolph, Guilford Counties) (S.L. 2007-41).
- Asheville (Buncombe County) (S.L. 2018-123).

Jeffrey Hudson Director



Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578

Senate Bill 51

Page 2

- Biltmore Forest, Black Mountain, (Buncombe County) and Ronda (Wilkes County) (S.L. 2019-27).
- Dobson (Surry County) (S.L. 2012-47).
- Elkin (Surry, Wilkes Counties) (S.L. 2014-35).
- Jonesville, Boonville, East Bend (Yadkin County) (S.L. 2017-56).
- Lincolnton (Lincoln County) (S.L. 2017-62).
- Montreat (Buncombe County) (S.L. 2019-28).
- Pilot Mountain (Surry County) (S.L. 2012-47).
- Troy, Star (Montgomery County) (S.L. 2017-12).
- Winston-Salem (Forsyth County) (S.L. 2011-141).

^{*}Brad Krehely, Staff Attorney for the Legislative Analysis Division, contributed to the drafting of this summary.