

HOUSE BILL 282: Mount Airy/Even-Year Elections.

2021-2022 General Assembly

Committee: House State Government. If favorable, re-refer **Date**: March 24, 2021

to Election Law and Campaign Finance Reform. If favorable, re-refer to Rules,

Calendar, and Operations of the House

Introduced by: Rep. Stevens Prepared by: Brad Krehely

Analysis of: First Edition Committee Co-Counsel

OVERVIEW: House Bill 282 would change the regular municipal election cycle from odd-numbered years to even-numbered years for the City of Mount Airy and would extend the terms of the current City officers one year to implement the new election schedule.

CURRENT LAW: Generally, municipal elections are held in odd-numbered years. The City of Mount Airy conducts municipal elections in odd-numbered years, held on the Tuesday after the first Monday in November. Elections are conducted on a nonpartisan primary and election method. G.S. 163-279(a)(3) and G.S. 163-294.

The following chart summarizes the current City officers and their terms of office in the City of Mount Airy:

City	Town Officers	Terms of Officers	Current Terms of Officers
Mount Airy	Mayor	Mayor: Four years	Mayor: Term expires in 2021
(Surry Co.)	Board of Town	Commissioners :	Aldermen: Term for 3
	Commissioners	Four years,	members expires in 2023;
	(5 members)	staggered	term for 2 members expires in
			2021.

BILL ANALYSIS: House Bill 282 would amend the charter for the City of Mount Airy to require that regular municipal elections be held in even numbered years, beginning in 2022. To implement this change, municipal elections would not be conducted in the City in 2021, and the terms of office for the Mayor and all Commissioners serving on the effective date of the act would be extended by one year.

EFFECTIVE DATE: The act would be effective when it becomes law and would apply to elections held on or after that date.

BACKGROUND: Regular municipal elections in most municipalities are held in odd-numbered years. The following municipalities hold regular municipal elections in even-numbered years:

- Albemarle, Badin, Locust, Misenheimer, New London, Norwood, Oakboro, Red Cross, Richfield, Stanfield (all municipalities in Stanly County) (S.L. 2015-253).
- Archdale (Randolph, Guilford Counties) (S.L. 2007-41).
- Asheville (Buncombe County) (S.L. 2018-123).
- Biltmore Forest, Black Mountain, (Buncombe County) and Ronda (Wilkes County) (S.L. 2019-27).

Jeffrey Hudson Director



Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578

This bill analysis was prepared by the nonpartisan legislative staff for the use of legislators in their deliberations and does not constitute an official statement of legislative intent.

House Bill 282

Page 2

- Dobson (Surry County) (S.L. 2012-47).
- Elkin (Surry, Wilkes Counties) (S.L. 2014-35).
- Jonesville, Boonville, East Bend (Yadkin County) (S.L. 2017-56).
- Lincolnton (Lincoln County) (S.L. 2017-62).
- Montreat (Buncombe County) (S.L. 2019-28).
- Pilot Mountain (Surry County) (S.L. 2012-47).
- Troy, Star (Montgomery County) (S.L. 2017-12).
- Winston-Salem (Forsyth County) (S.L. 2011-141).

Jessica Sammons, Staff Attorney for the Legislative Analysis Division, contributed to the drafting of this summary.