

## **HOUSE BILL 282: Mount Airy/Even-Year Elections.**

## 2021-2022 General Assembly

Committee: Senate Redistricting and Elections. If Date: May 19, 2021

favorable, re-refer to Rules and Operations of

the Senate

Introduced by: Rep. Stevens Prepared by: Hillary Woodard

Analysis of: Second Edition Committee Co-counsel

OVERVIEW: House Bill 282 changes the regular municipal election cycle from odd-numbered years to even-numbered years for the City of Mount Airy, beginning with the 2022 election by extending the terms of the current mayor and commissioners for one year to implement the new election schedule.

**CURRENT LAW:** Generally, municipal elections are held in odd-numbered years. The City of Mount Airy conducts municipal elections in odd-numbered years, held on the Tuesday after the first Monday in November. Elections are conducted using the nonpartisan primary and election method. G.S. 163-279(a)(3) and G.S. 163-294.

The following chart summarizes the current City officers and their terms:

City	Town Officers	Terms of Officers	<b>Current Terms of Officers</b>
<b>Mount Airy</b>	Mayor Board of Town	Mayor: Four years Commissioners:	Mayor: Term expires in 2021 Commissioners: Term for 3
	Commissioners (5 members)	Four years, staggered	members expires in 2023; term for 2 members expires in 2021.

**BILL ANALYSIS:** House Bill 282 would amend the charter for the City of Mount Airy to require that regular municipal elections be held in even-numbered years, beginning in 2022. To implement this change, municipal elections would not be conducted in the City of Mount Airy in 2021, and the terms of office for the Mayor and all Commissioners would be extended by one year.

The Mayor would be elected in 2022 and every four years thereafter. Three Commissioners would be elected in 2024 and every four years thereafter. Two Commissioners would be elected in 2022 every four years thereafter.

**EFFECTIVE DATE:** Effective when it becomes law and applies to elections held on or after that date.

**BACKGROUND:** Regular municipal elections in most municipalities are held in odd-numbered years. The following municipalities hold regular municipal elections in even-numbered years:

Jeffrey Hudson Director



Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578

## **House Bill 282**

Page 2

- Albemarle, Badin, Locust, Misenheimer, New London, Norwood, Oakboro, Red Cross, Richfield, Stanfield (all municipalities in Stanly County) (S.L. 2015-253).
- Archdale (Randolph, Guilford Counties) (S.L. 2007-41).
- Asheville (Buncombe County) (S.L. 2018-123).
- Biltmore Forest, Black Mountain, (Buncombe County) and Ronda (Wilkes County) (S.L. 2019-27).
- Dobson (Surry County) (S.L. 2012-47).
- Elkin (Surry, Wilkes Counties) (S.L. 2014-35).
- Jonesville, Boonville, East Bend (Yadkin County) (S.L. 2017-56).
- Lincolnton (Lincoln County) (S.L. 2017-62).
- Montreat (Buncombe County) (S.L. 2019-28).
- Pilot Mountain (Surry County) (S.L. 2012-47).
- Troy, Star (Montgomery County) (S.L. 2017-12).
- Winston-Salem (Forsyth County) (S.L. 2011-141).

<sup>\*</sup>Brad Krehely, Staff Attorney for the Legislative Analysis Division, contributed to the drafting of this summary.