

HOUSE BILL 270: Prohibit Renaming of Fayetteville State.

2021-2022 General Assembly

Committee:	House Rules, Calendar, and Operations of the	Date:	March 29, 2021
Introduced by: Analysis of:	House Reps. Pierce, Lucas First Edition	Prepared by:	Drupti Chauhan Committee Counsel

OVERVIEW: House Bill 270 would prohibit Fayetteville State University from being redesignated as any other name as a constituent institution of The University of North Carolina.

CURRENT LAW: G.S. 116-2 sets forth the legal names of all the constituent institutions of The University of North Carolina including any re-designations that have occurred. Pembroke State University was redesignated effective July 1, 1996, as the University of North Carolina at Pembroke and the North Carolina School of the Arts was redesignated effective August 1, 2008, as the University of North Carolina School of the Arts.

BILL ANALYSIS: House Bill 270 would prohibit Fayetteville State University from redesignated as any other name as a constituent institution of The University of North Carolina.

EFFECTIVE DATE: The bill would become effective when it becomes law.

Jeffrey Hudson Director



Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578

This bill analysis was prepared by the nonpartisan legislative staff for the use of legislators in their deliberations and does not constitute an official statement of legislative intent.