

SENATE BILL 80: China Grove Satellite Annexation.

2019-2020 General Assembly

Committee: House Finance **Introduced by:** Sen. Ford

Analysis of: PCS to Second Edition

S80-CSTMxf-18

Date: June 19, 2019

Prepared by: Greg Roney

Staff Attorney

OVERVIEW: Senate Bill 80 would exempt the Town of China Grove from the 10% area cap on voluntary satellite annexations.

CURRENT LAW: G.S. 160A-58.1 governs voluntary municipal annexation of noncontiguous property, also known as voluntary satellite annexation.

If all property owners in a satellite area petition a municipality for voluntary annexation of the noncontiguous property, the municipality may annex the property, if the following five requirements are met:

- 1. The nearest point on the proposed satellite corporate limits must be not more than 3 miles from the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.
- 2. No point on the proposed satellite corporate limits may be closer to the primary corporate limits of another city than to the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.
- 3. The area must be so situated that the annexing city will be able to provide the same services within the proposed satellite corporate limits that it provides within its primary corporate limits.
- 4. If the area proposed for annexation, or any portion thereof, is a subdivision as defined in G.S. 160A-376, all of the subdivision must be included.
- 5. The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed 10% of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.

BILL ANALYSIS: Senate Bill 80 would add the Town of China Grove to the group of municipalities exempted from the 10% area cap on voluntary satellite annexation.

EFFECTIVE DATE: Senate Bill 80 would be effective when it becomes law.

BACKGROUND: On November 6, 2018, the China Grove Town Council passed a unanimous resolution requesting that the Town be exempted from the 10% area cap on voluntary satellite annexations. The General Assembly has exempted over 100 other municipalities from this requirement in G.S. 160A-58.1(b)(5).

Brad Krehely, Susan Sitze, and Nicholas Giddings, all with the Legislative Analysis Division, substantially contributed to this summary.

Karen Cochrane-Brown Director



Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578