

SENATE BILL 795: Laurinburg-Maxton Airport Commission.

2019-2020 General Assembly

Committee:	Senate Rules and Operations of the Senate	Date:	May 20, 2020
Introduced by:	Sen. McInnis	Prepared by:	Jessica Sammons*
Analysis of:	First Edition		Staff Attorney

OVERVIEW: Senate Bill 795 would rename the Laurinburg/Maxton Airport Commission to the Southeast Regional Airport Authority, increase its membership to seven voting members and one ex officio nonvoting member, and clarify its powers and duties.

CURRENT LAW: G.S. 63-4 authorizes the governing body of any city, town, or county to jointly acquire, establish, construct, own, control, lease, equip, improve, maintain, operate, and regulate airports or landing fields for the use of airplanes and other aircraft, and to use for such purpose any suitable property owned or controlled by such city, town, and county.

The Laurinburg/Maxton Airport Commission was created by ordinance of the City of Laurinburg for the purpose of operating the Laurinburg/Maxton Airport, and is authorized to exercise on behalf of the Town of Maxton and the City of Laurinburg all powers granted to each municipality by Chapter 63 of the General Statutes.

The Commission consists of six members serving terms of three years, three of whom are residents of the Town of Maxton appointed by that town's governing body, and three of whom are residents of the City of Laurinburg appointed by its city council.

BILL ANALYSIS: Senate Bill 795 would rename the Laurinburg/Maxton Airport Commission as the Southeast Regional Airport Authority.

The Authority would be empowered to purchase, acquire, establish, construct, own, control, lease, equip, improve, maintain, operate, and regulate airports and landing fields for the use of airplanes and other aircraft within the limits of Scotland County, and for this purpose to purchase, improve, own, hold, lease, or operate real or personal property.

The Authority would consist of the following members:

- Seven voting members:
 - Three registered voters of the City of Laurinburg appointed by the city's mayor.
 - One registered voter of the Town of Maxton appointed by the town's mayor.
 - Three registered voters of Scotland County appointed by the chair of the county's board of commissioners.
- One ex officio nonvoting member, which would be the Scotland County Economic Development Director.

Karen Cochrane-Brown Director



Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578

This bill analysis was prepared by the nonpartisan legislative staff for the use of legislators in their deliberations and does not constitute an official statement of legislative intent.

Senate Bill 795

Page 2

Voting members would serve two-year staggered terms beginning on January 1, except that two of the three City of Laurinburg appointees and one of the three Scotland County appointees would serve initial terms of one year. The old Commission members' terms would expire on December 31, 2020, and the new Authority members' terms would begin on January 1, 2021.

The bill would also repeal prior acts of the General Assembly pertaining to the Commission.

EFFECTIVE DATE: This act would be effective when it becomes law.

*Bill Patterson, counsel to Senate State and Local Government, substantially contributed to this summary.