

SENATE BILL 139: Even-Yr. Municipal Elections/Town of Montreat.

2019-2020 General Assembly

Committee: Senate Redistricting and Elections. If **Date:** May 21, 2019

favorable, re-refer to Rules and Operations of

the Senate

Introduced by: Sen. Edwards
Analysis of: First Edition

Prepared by: Jessica Sammons
Staff Attorney

OVERVIEW: Senate Bill 139 would change the regular municipal election cycle from odd-numbered years to even-numbered years for the Town of Montreat, and would extend the terms of the current town officers one year to implement the new election schedule.

CURRENT LAW: Generally, municipal elections are held in odd-numbered years. G.S. 163A-1585. In the Town of Montreat, officers consist of a mayor and five commissioners serving four-year staggered terms. Elections are held on the Tuesday following the first Monday in November in odd-numbered years. Elections are conducted on a nonpartisan basis and the results are determined using the plurality method in G.S. 163A-1616. Newly elected officers take office on the first Monday in December following the election.

Currently, the mayor and two commissioners' terms expire in 2019, and three commissioners' terms expire in 2021.

BILL ANALYSIS: Senate Bill 139 would amend the Charter of the Town of Montreat to require regular municipal elections to be held on the Tuesday following the first Monday in November in even-numbered years.

To implement this change, municipal elections would not be conducted in 2019 and the next municipal election would be held in 2020. The current mayor and commissioners whose terms would expire in 2019 would serve until 2020, and stand for election for a four-year term. The current commissioners whose terms would expire in 2021 would serve until 2022, and stand for election for a four-year term. The mayor and commissioners would be elected every four years thereafter.

EFFECTIVE DATE: Effective when it becomes law and applies to elections held on or after that date.

BACKGROUND: Regular municipal elections in most municipalities are held in odd-numbered years. The following municipalities hold regular municipal elections in even-numbered years:

- Albemarle, Badin, Locust, Misenheimer, New London, Norwood, Oakboro, Red Cross, Richfield, Stanfield (all municipalities in Stanly County) (S.L. 2015-253)
- Archdale (Randolph, Guilford Counties) (S.L. 2007-41)

Karen Cochrane-Brown Director



Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578

Senate Bill 139

Page 2

- Asheville (Buncombe County) (S.L. 2018-123)
- Dobson (*Surry County*) (S.L. 2012-47)
- Elkin (Surry, Wilkes Counties) (S.L. 2014-35)
- Jonesville, Boonville, East Bend (Yadkin County) (S.L. 2017-56)
- Lincolnton (Lincoln County) (S.L. 2017-62)
- Pilot Mountain (Surry County) (S.L. 2012-47)
- Troy, Star (*Montgomery County*) (S.L. 2017-12)
- Winston-Salem (Forsyth County) (S.L. 2011-141)