

## HOUSE BILL 308: Regulatory Reform Act of 2020, Sec. 19: Library Statute Changes

2019-2020 General Assembly

Committee:
Introduced by:
Analysis of:
Sec. 19 of S.L. 2020-74

Date:
October 13, 2020

Kyle Evans
Staff Attorney

## OVERVIEW: Section 19 of S.L. 2020-74 does the following:

- Expands the dean's seat on the Public Librarian Certification Commission to include ''department chair, program director, or equivalent.''
- Eliminates the requirement for standing committees within the State Library Commission, and instead give the authority to create four-person committees to the Chair of the State Library Commission with the approval of the Library Commission.
- Repeals the requirement that State publications that are of historical or enduring value and importance to the citizens of North Carolina must be printed on alkaline (acid-free) paper.

This section became effective July 1, 2020.

## **CURRENT LAW & BACKGROUND:**

The Public Librarian Certification Commission is comprised of 5 members and reserves one seat for the dean of an accredited North Carolina grad

uate school of librarianship appointed by the Governor. Of the five accredited library schools in the State, only two use the term "dean" to denote the program head.

Pursuant to previous law, the State Library Commission (Library Commission) must have at least four standing committees comprised of six members appointed annually by the Secretary of the Department of Natural and Cultural Resources and approved by the Library Commission.

Jeffrey Hudson Director



Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578