

HOUSE BILL 201: Randolph Co. Register of Deeds Tax Cert.

2019-2020 General Assembly

Committee: Senate State and Local Government. If **Date**: June 4, 2019

favorable, re-refer to Rules and Operations of

the Senate

Introduced by: Reps. Hurley, McNeill **Prepared by:** Brad Krehely

Analysis of: Second Edition Committee Co-Counsel

OVERVIEW: House Bill 201 would authorize Randolph County, by resolution, to require payment of delinquent property taxes prior to recording deeds conveying property.

CURRENT LAW: G.S. 161-31(a) allows the county board of commissioners in certain counties, by resolution, to require the register of deeds not to accept any deed transferring real property for registration unless the county tax collector has certified that no delinquent ad valorem county taxes, ad valorem municipal taxes, or other taxes with which the collector is charged are a lien on the property described in the deed. The county commissioners may describe the form the certification must take in its resolution.

G.S. 161-31(a1) provides an exception. It requires the register of deeds to accept, without certification, a deed containing the following statement: "This instrument prepared by: ______, a licensed North Carolina attorney. Delinquent taxes, if any, to be paid by the closing attorney to the county tax collector upon disbursement of closing proceeds."

BILL ANALYSIS: House Bill 201 would authorize the board of commissioners in Randolph County to pass a resolution requiring the register of deeds not to accept any deed transferring real property unless the county tax collector certifies that the taxes listed in the statute are not delinquent and are not a lien on the property.

EFFECTIVE DATE: This act would become effective when it becomes law.

Nicholas Giddings, Staff Attorney for the Legislative Analysis Division, contributed substantially to this summary.

Karen Cochrane-Brown Director H 2 O 1 - S M R N - 5 O E 2 - V - 2

Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578

¹ G.S. 161-31 currently applies to the following 81 counties: Alamance, Alexander, Anson, Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Buncombe, Burke, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Catawba, Cherokee, Chowan, Clay, Cleveland, Columbus, Currituck, Dare, Davidson, Davie, Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Franklin, Gaston, Gates, Graham, Granville, Greene, Halifax, Harnett, Haywood, Henderson, Hertford, Hoke, Hyde, Iredell, Jackson, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, Martin, McDowell, Montgomery, Nash, Northampton, Onslow, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Person, Pitt, Polk, Robeson, Rockingham, Rowan, Rutherford, Sampson, Scotland, Stanly, Stokes, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Tyrrell, Vance, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Wilson, Yadkin, and Yancey.