

2017-2018 General Assembly

SENATE BILL 99: Appropriations Act of 2018, Sec. 7.21: Add School Systems to the Teacher Assistant Tuition Reimbursement Program

Committee:		Date:	August 3, 2018
Introduced by:		Prepared by:	Drupti Chauhan
Analysis of:	Sec. 7.21 of S.L. 2018-5		Staff Attorney

OVERVIEW and ANALYSIS: Sec. 7.21 of S.L. 2018-5 makes several changes to the Teacher Assistant Tuition Reimbursement Program (Program). It adds the following local school administrative units as participating units beginning with the 2018-2019 school year: Alleghany County Schools, Ashe County Schools, Bladen County Schools, Cherokee County Schools, Clay County Schools, Columbus County Schools, Davidson County Schools, Graham County Schools, Greene County Schools, Jackson County Schools, Jones County Schools, Lenoir County Public Schools, Macon County Schools, McDowell County Schools, Mitchell County Schools, Public Schools of Robeson County, Swain County Schools, Yadkin County Schools, and Yancey County Schools.

The section increases the tuition reimbursement to \$4,600 per academic year. Finally, it clarifies that the report to the Joint Legislative Education Oversight Committee must be by September 1 of each year following the first full year of participation in the Program.

This section became effective July 1, 2018.

Karen Cochrane-Brown Director



Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578

This bill analysis was prepared by the nonpartisan legislative staff for the use of legislators in their deliberations and does not constitute an official statement of legislative intent.