

## **SENATE BILL 757: Mecklenburg Court Districts Fairness Act.**

2017-2018 General Assembly

Committee:	Senate Rules and Operations of the Senate	Date:	May 30, 2018	
Introduced by:	Sens. Bishop, Tarte	Prepared by:	Erika Churchill	and
Analysis of:	Second Edition		Jessica Sammons,	
			Staff Attorneys	

**OVERVIEW:** Senate Bill 757, effective by phasing in beginning with the 2018 elections, would reestablish the following judicial districts in Mecklenburg County:

- > Superior Court districts, fully effective January 1, 2023.
- > District Court districts, fully effective January 1, 2021.

**CURRENT LAW:** Prior to 1996, elections of judges in North Carolina were conducted in a partisan manner. In 1996, the law governing the elections of superior court judges was amended to make those elections nonpartisan. In 2001, the law governing the elections of district court judges was amended to make those elections nonpartisan. In 2002, the law governing the elections of appellate court judges was amended to make those elections nonpartisan, beginning with the 2004 elections. S.L. 2017-3 returns judicial elections to a partisan basis, effective with the 2018 elections. Superior Court judges serve eight-year terms; district court judges serve four-year terms.

Election of the Superior and District Court Divisions of the General Court of Justice are by district, consisting of various territorial districts, with at least one district judge in each district. The General Assembly determines the number of judges for each district. Each judge is a resident of the district to which he or she is elected. Article IV, Sec. 9 and 10, of the North Carolina Constitution grant the General Assembly authority to divide the State, from time to time, into a convenient number of judicial districts and divisions.

BILL ANALYSIS: Please see attached map for the proposed Superior Court and District Court districts.

The phase-in implementation would not impact the current elective term of any Superior Court judge or District Court judge.

**EFFECTIVE DATE:** Effective January 1, 2019, phased-in with elections held between 2018 and 2022.

Karen Cochrane-Brown Director



Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578

This bill analysis was prepared by the nonpartisan legislative staff for the use of legislators in their deliberations and does not constitute an official statement of legislative intent.