

SENATE BILL 19: Even Yr Municipal Election/Towns of Troy/Star.

Date:

2017-2018 General Assembly

House State and Local Government I **Committee:**

May 10, 2017 Introduced by: Sen. Dunn Prepared by: Giles Perry

Jessica Sammons **Analysis of:** Second Edition

Committee Co-Counsel

OVERVIEW: Senate Bill 19 would change the regular municipal election cycle from odd-numbered years to even-numbered years for the Town of Troy and the Town of Star, extend the terms of the current mayor and commissioners one year to implement the towns' new election schedule, and change the date of the next municipal election in Troy and Star to 2018.

[As introduced, this bill was identical to H8, as introduced by Rep. Burr, which is currently in **Senate Rules and Operations of the Senate.**]

CURRENT LAW: Generally, municipal elections are held in odd-numbered years (G.S. 163-279). In both Troy and Star, officers consist of a mayor and five commissioners, with the mayor serving for a two-year term, and commissioners serving staggered four-year terms. Elections are conducted on a nonpartisan basis, and the results are determined using the plurality method in G.S. 163-292. Nonpartisan elections that are determined by a simple plurality are held on the Tuesday after the first Monday in November (G.S. 163-279). Currently, in both towns, the mayor and three commissioners' terms expire in 2017, and the other two commissioners' terms expire in 2019.

BILL ANALYSIS:

Section 1: Would provide that, beginning in 2018, regular municipal elections for town officers for the Town of Troy must be held in even-numbered years.

To implement this change, municipal elections would not be conducted in 2017. The current mayor would serve until 2018. The next mayor would be elected in 2018, and biennially thereafter. Five town commissioners would be elected for staggered four-year terms. The current town commissioners whose terms would expire in 2017 would serve until 2018, and stand for election for a four-year term. The current town commissioners whose terms would expire in 2019 would serve until 2020, and stand for election for a four-year term.

Section 2: Would provide that, beginning in 2018, regular municipal elections for town officers for the Town of Star must be held in even-numbered years.

To implement this change, municipal elections would not be conducted in 2017. Section 2 would make changes identical to those made in Section 1 for Troy for the election and term limits of Star's mayor and commissioners.

EFFECTIVE DATE: Senate Bill 19 would be effective when it becomes law, and apply to elections held on or after that day. The next municipal election in Troy and Star would occur in 2018.

Karen Cochrane-Brown Director



Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578

Senate Bill 19

Page 2

BACKGROUND: Both towns are located in Montgomery County. Troy has a population of 3,304. Star has a population of 856. All municipal elections in Montgomery County are currently held in odd-numbered years. The municipalities located in Montgomery County are: Biscoe, Candor, Mount Gilead, Star, and Troy.

Regular municipal elections in most municipalities are held in odd-numbered years. The following municipalities hold regular municipal elections in even-numbered years:

- Albemarle, Badin, Locust, Misenheimer, New London, Norwood, Oakboro, Red Cross, Richfield, Stanfield (all municipalities in Stanly County) (S.L. 2015-253)
- Archdale (Randolph, Guilford Counties) (S.L. 2007-41)
- Dobson (*Surry County*) (S.L. 2012-47)
- Elkin (Surry, Wilkes Counties) (S.L. 2014-35)
- Pilot Mountain (Surry County) (S.L. 2012-47)
- Winston-Salem (Forsyth County) (S.L. 2011-141)
- High Point (*Guilford, Davidson, Randolph, Forsyth Counties*) (S.L. 2006-171) However, S.L. 2013-261 changes the method of election for municipal elections back to odd-numbered years, beginning with the 2017 election.