

HOUSE BILL 950: Carthage Satellite Annexations.

This Bill Analysis reflects the contents of the bill as it was presented in committee.

2017-2018 General Assembly

House State and Local Government I. If Date: May 23, 2018 **Committee:**

favorable, re-refer to Finance

Introduced by: Reps. McNeill, Boles **Prepared by:** Jessica Sammons

Analysis of: First Edition **Staff Attorney**

OVERVIEW: House Bill 950 would exempt the Town of Carthage from the 10% area cap on voluntary satellite annexations.

CURRENT LAW: G.S. 160A-58.1 governs voluntary municipal annexation of noncontiguous property, also known as voluntary satellite annexation.

If all property owners in a satellite area petition a municipality for voluntary annexation of the noncontiguous property, the municipality may annex the property, if the following 5 requirements are met:

- 1. The nearest point on the proposed satellite corporate limits must be not more than 3 miles from the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.
- 2. No point on the proposed satellite corporate limits may be closer to the primary corporate limits of another city than to the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.
- 3. The area must be so situated that the annexing city will be able to provide the same services within the proposed satellite corporate limits that it provides within its primary corporate limits.
- 4. If the area proposed for annexation, or any portion thereof, is a subdivision as defined in G.S. 160A-376, all of the subdivision must be included.
- 5. The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed 10% of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.

BILL ANALYSIS: House Bill 950 would add the Town of Carthage to the group of municipalities exempted from the 10% area cap on voluntary satellite annexation.

EFFECTIVE DATE: Effective when it becomes law.

The General Assembly has exempted 105 other municipalities from **BACKGROUND:** G.S. 160A-58.1(b)(5), as set out in the statute. Two municipalities are also exempt from G.S. 160A-58.1(b)(5), but are not listed in the statute: the Town of Mooresville (S.L. 1997-219) and the City of Mebane (S.L. 2017-82).

Karen Cochrane-Brown Director



Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578