

HOUSE BILL 8: Even Yr Municipal Election/Towns of Troy/Star.

2017-2018 General Assembly

Committee: House State and Local Government I. If Date: February 13, 2017

favorable, re-refer to Elections and Ethics

Law

Introduced by: Rep. Burr **Prepared by:** Giles Perry

Analysis of: PCS to First Edition Jessica Sammons

H8-CSBK-1 Committee Counsel

OVERVIEW: House Bill 8 (PCS) changes the regular municipal election cycle from odd-numbered years to even-numbered years for the Town of Troy and the Town of Star, extending the terms of the current mayor and commissioners in both towns to implement the new election schedule.

The PCS changes the date of the next municipal election in Troy and Star to 2018, and extends the current commissioners' terms one year.

[As introduced, this bill was identical to S19, as introduced by Sen. Dunn, which is currently in Senate State and Local Government.]

CURRENT LAW: Generally, municipal elections are held in odd-numbered years (G.S. 163-279). In both Troy and Star, officers consist of a mayor and five commissioners, with the mayor serving for a two-year term, and commissioners serving staggered four-year terms. Elections are conducted on a nonpartisan basis, and the results are determined using the plurality method in G.S. 163-292. Nonpartisan elections that are determined by a simple plurality are held on the Tuesday after the first Monday in November (G.S. 163-279). Currently, in both towns, the mayor and three commissioners' terms expire in 2017, and the other two commissioners' terms expire in 2019.

BILL ANALYSIS:

<u>Section 1:</u> Provides that, beginning in 2018, regular municipal elections for town officers for the Town of Troy must be held in even-numbered years.

To implement this change, municipal elections will not be conducted in 2017. The current mayor will serve until 2018. The next mayor will be elected in 2018, and biennially thereafter. Five town commissioners will be elected for staggered four-year terms. The current town commissioners whose terms would expire in 2017 will serve until 2018, and stand for election for a four-year term. The current town commissioners whose terms would expire in 2019 will serve until 2020, and stand for election for a four-year term.

<u>Section 2:</u> Provides that, beginning in 2018, regular municipal elections for town officers for the Town of Star must be held in even-numbered years.

To implement this change, municipal elections will not be conducted in 2017. Section 2 makes changes identical to those made in Section 1 for Troy for the election and term limits of Star's mayor and commissioners.

Karen Cochrane-Brown Director



Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578

House PCS 8

Page 2

EFFECTIVE DATE: This bill would become effective when it becomes law, and applies to elections held on or after that day. The next municipal election in Troy and Star will occur in 2018.

BACKGROUND: Both towns are located in Montgomery County. Troy has a population of 3,304. Star has a population of 856. All municipal elections in Montgomery County are currently held in odd-numbered years. The municipalities located in Montgomery County are: Biscoe, Candor, Mount Gilead, Star, and Troy.

Regular municipal elections in most municipalities are held in odd-numbered years. The following municipalities hold regular municipal elections in even-numbered years:

- Albemarle, Badin, Locust, Misenheimer, New London, Norwood, Oakboro, Red Cross, Richfield, Stanfield (all municipalities in Stanly County) (S.L. 2015-253)
- Archdale (Randolph, Guilford Counties) (S.L. 2007-41)
- Dobson (Surry County) (S.L. 2012-47)
- Elkin (Surry, Wilkes Counties) (S.L. 2014-35)
- Pilot Mountain (Surry County) (S.L. 2012-47)
- Winston-Salem (Forsyth County) (S.L. 2011-141)
- High Point (*Guilford*, *Davidson*, *Randolph*, *Forsyth Counties*) (S.L. 2006-171) However, S.L. 2013-261 changes the method of election for municipal elections back to odd-numbered years, beginning with the 2017 election.