

HOUSE BILL 498: Jonesville/Boonville/East Bend/Even-Yr Elec'n.

2017-2018 General Assembly

Committee: Senate Select Committee on Elections. If Date: June 20, 2017

favorable, re-refer to Rules and Operations of

the Senate

Introduced by: Rep. Zachary Prepared by: Erika Churchill,

Analysis of: Second Edition Kara McCraw, and Jessica Sammons

Committee Co-Counsel

OVERVIEW: House Bill 498 would change the regular municipal election cycle from odd-numbered years to even-numbered years for the Towns of Jonesville, Boonville, and East Bend, extend the terms of the current town officers one year to implement the new election schedule, and change the date of the next municipal election in Jonesville, Boonville, and East Bend to 2018.

CURRENT LAW: Generally, municipal elections are held in odd-numbered years. G.S. 163-279. The Towns of Jonesville, Boonville, and East Bend all conduct municipal elections in odd-numbered years, held on the Tuesday after the first Monday in November. Elections for all three towns are conducted on a nonpartisan basis, and the results are determined using the plurality method in G.S. 163-292. The following chart summarizes the current town officers and their terms of office in the Towns of Jonesville, Boonville, and East Bend:

	Town Officers	Terms of Officers	Current Terms of Officers
Jonesville	Mayor	Mayor: Four years	Mayor: Term expires in 2017
	Town Council	Council: Four years,	Council: Term for 2 members
Population: 2,251	(5 members)	staggered	expire in 2017; term for 3 members
			expire in 2019
Boonville	Mayor	Mayor: Four years	Mayor: Term expires in 2017
Population: 1,216	Board of Town	Commissioners : Four	<u>Commissioners</u> : Term for 2
	Commissioners	years, staggered	members expire in 2017; term for 3
	(5 members)		members expire in 2019
East Bend	Mayor	Mayor: Two years	Mayor: Term expires in 2017
Population: 595	Board of Town	Commissioners:	<u>Commissioners</u> : Term for 3
	Commissioners	Either four years or	members expire in 2017; term for 2
	(5 members)	two years, staggered*	members expire in 2019*

^{*} In East Bend, the two persons receiving the highest number of votes are elected for four-year terms, and the person receiving the next highest number of votes is elected for a two-year term, resulting in elections for three commissioners in each municipal election.

BILL ANALYSIS: House Bill 498 would provide that regular municipal elections in the Towns of Jonesville, Boonville, and East Bend must be held in even-numbered years, beginning in 2018. To implement this change, municipal elections would not be conducted in 2017, and the terms of all current

Karen Cochrane-Brown Director



Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578

House Bill 498

Page 2

town officers would be extended one year. In the 2018 election and thereafter, terms of office would return to two or four years, as provided in the chart above.

EFFECTIVE DATE: This act would be effective when it becomes law and would apply to elections held on or after that date. The next municipal election in Jonesville, Boonville, and East Bend would occur in 2018.

BACKGROUND: The towns of Jonesville, Boonville, and East Bend are all located in Yadkin County. The only other town in Yadkin County is Yadkinville (population: 2,923), which currently holds municipal elections in odd-numbered years.

Regular municipal elections in most municipalities are held in odd-numbered years. The following municipalities hold regular municipal elections in even-numbered years:

- Albemarle, Badin, Locust, Misenheimer, New London, Norwood, Oakboro, Red Cross, Richfield, Stanfield (all municipalities in Stanly County) (S.L. 2015-253)
- Archdale (Randolph, Guilford Counties) (S.L. 2007-41)
- Dobson (*Surry County*) (S.L. 2012-47)
- Elkin (Surry, Wilkes Counties) (S.L. 2014-35)
- Pilot Mountain (Surry County) (S.L. 2012-47)
- Winston-Salem (Forsyth County) (S.L. 2011-141)
- High Point (*Guilford*, *Davidson*, *Randolph*, *Forsyth Counties*) (S.L. 2006-171) However, S.L. 2013-261 changes the method of election for municipal elections back to odd-numbered years, beginning with the 2017 election.
- Troy, Star (*Montgomery County*) (S.L. 2017-12) Even-year municipal elections will begin in 2018.