

## HOUSE BILL 498: Jonesville/Boonville/East Bend/Even-Yr Elec'n.

## 2017-2018 General Assembly

Committee: House State and Local Government I. If Date: April 5, 2017

favorable, re-refer to Elections and Ethics

Law

**Introduced by:** Rep. Zachary **Prepared by:** Giles Perry

Analysis of: PCS to First Edition Jessica Sammons

H498-CSBK-11 Committee Co-Counsel

OVERVIEW: The Proposed Committee Substitute (PCS) for House Bill 498 would change the regular municipal election cycle from odd-numbered years to even-numbered years for the Towns of Jonesville, Boonville, and East Bend, extending the terms of the current town officers one year to implement the new election schedule.

## The PCS clarifies that the date of the next municipal election in Jonesville, Boonville, and East Bend is in 2018.

**CURRENT LAW:** Generally, municipal elections are held in odd-numbered years. G.S. 163-279. The Towns of Jonesville, Boonville, and East Bend all conduct municipal elections in odd-numbered years, held on the Tuesday after the first Monday in November. Elections for all three towns are conducted on a nonpartisan basis, and the results are determined using the plurality method in G.S. 163-292. The following chart summarizes the current town officers and their terms of office in the Towns of Jonesville, Boonville, and East Bend:

	Town Officers	Terms of Officers	<b>Current Terms of Officers</b>
Jonesville	Mayor	Mayor: Four years	Mayor: Term expires in 2017
Population: 2,251	Town Council	Council: Four years,	Council: Term for 2 members
	(5 members)	staggered	expire in 2017; term for 3 members
			expire in 2019
Boonville	Mayor	Mayor: Four years	Mayor: Term expires in 2017
Population: 1,216	Board of Town	Commissioners: Four	Commissioners: Term for 2
	Commissioners	years, staggered	members expire in 2017; term for 3
	(5 members)		members expire in 2019
East Bend	Mayor	Mayor: Two years	Mayor: Term expires in 2017
Population: 595	Board of Town	Commissioners:	<u>Commissioners</u> : Term for 3
	Commissioners	Either four years or	members expire in 2017; term for 2
	(5 members)	two years, staggered*	members expire in 2019*

<sup>\*</sup> In East Bend, the two persons receiving the highest number of votes are elected for four-year terms, and the person receiving the next highest number of votes is elected for a two-year term, resulting in elections for three commissioners in each municipal election.

**BILL ANALYSIS:** The PCS for House Bill 498 would provide that regular municipal elections in the Towns of Jonesville, Boonville, and East Bend must be held in even-numbered years, beginning in

Karen Cochrane-Brown Director



Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578

## **House PCS 498**

Page 2

2018. To implement this change, municipal elections would not be conducted in 2017, and the terms of all current town officers would be extended one year. In the 2018 election and thereafter, terms of office would return to two or four years, as provided in the chart above.

**EFFECTIVE DATE:** This act would be effective when it becomes law and would apply to elections held on or after that date. The next municipal election in Jonesville, Boonville, and East Bend would occur in 2018.

**BACKGROUND:** The only other town in Yadkin County is Yadkinville (population: 2,923), which currently holds municipal elections in odd-numbered years.

Regular municipal elections in most municipalities are held in odd-numbered years. The following municipalities hold regular municipal elections in even-numbered years:

- Albemarle, Badin, Locust, Misenheimer, New London, Norwood, Oakboro, Red Cross, Richfield, Stanfield (all municipalities in Stanly County) (S.L. 2015-253)
- Archdale (Randolph, Guilford Counties) (S.L. 2007-41)
- Dobson (Surry County) (S.L. 2012-47)
- Elkin (Surry, Wilkes Counties) (S.L. 2014-35)
- Pilot Mountain (Surry County) (S.L. 2012-47)
- Winston-Salem (Forsyth County) (S.L. 2011-141)
- High Point (*Guilford*, *Davidson*, *Randolph*, *Forsyth Counties*) (S.L. 2006-171) However, S.L. 2013-261 changes the method of election for municipal elections back to odd-numbered years, beginning with the 2017 election.