

## HOUSE BILL 331: Correct Board Member Terms/Town of Oakboro.

2017-2018 General Assembly

**Committee:** Senate Rules and Operations of the Senate

Introduced by: Rep. Burr

Prepared by: Erika Churchill and

Date:

Analysis of: First Edition Jessica Sammons,

Staff Attorneys

June 22, 2017

OVERVIEW: House Bill 331 would amend the Charter of the Town of Oakboro to correct how the terms of the five current commissioners expire as the town transitions to even-year municipal elections.

**CURRENT LAW & BILL ANALYSIS:** Officers for the Town of Oakboro consist of a mayor and five commissioners. The Mayor serves a two-year term. The commissioners are elected at-large and serve staggered four-year terms. Elections are conducted on a nonpartisan basis.

Beginning in 2018, regular municipal elections for the Town of Oakboro are to be held in evennumbered years. To implement this change, S.L. 2015-253 modified the term of the mayor elected in 2015 and the terms of the commissioners elected in 2013 and 2015.

House Bill 331 would correct the Town of Oakboro's charter, as amended by S.L. 2015-253, to reflect how the terms of the town officers are to expire during the transition to even-year municipal elections:

	Current Law – S.L. 2015-253	Corrections in House Bill 331
Mayor	Mayor elected in 2015 will serve a three-year term.  The next mayor will be elected in 2018, and every 2 years thereafter.	No change.
Commissioner Term 2015-2020	Three members elected in 2015 will serve until 2020 (five-year term).  In 2020, three members will be elected for four-year terms.	Two members elected in 2015 will serve until 2020 (five-year term).  In 2020, two members will be elected for four-year terms.
Commissioner Term 2013-2018	Two members elected in 2013 will serve until 2018 (five-year term).  In 2018, two members will be elected for four-year terms.	Three members elected in 2013 will serve until 2018 (five-year term).  In 2018, three members will be elected for four-year terms.

**EFFECTIVE DATE:** This act would be effective when it becomes law.

Karen Cochrane-Brown Director



Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578