

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 902: SBE Confirmation.

2016-2017 General Assembly

Committee: Senate Select Committee on Nominations
Introduced by: Sens. Barefoot, Ballard

Date: June 29, 2016
Prepared by: Kristen L. Harris

Analysis of: First Edition Committee Co-Counsel

SUMMARY: Senate Joint Resolution 902 will provide for the confirmation of two members appointed by the Governor to the State Board of Education.

CURRENT LAW: Article IX, Section 4 of the North Carolina Constitution establishes the State Board of Education, and requires the Governor to appoint 11 members of the State Board in overlapping terms, subject to confirmation by the General Assembly in joint session. The Governor must appoint one member to the Board from each of the eight education districts and three members are appointed at large.

G.S. 115C-10 requires the Governor to transmit to the presiding officers of the Senate and House, on or before the 60th legislative day, the names of the persons appointed and submitted to the General Assembly for confirmation. Pursuant to joint resolution, the Senate and House of Representatives must meet in joint session for consideration of an action upon such appointments.

BILL ANALYSIS: Senate Joint Resolution 902 will be acted on by the Senate and the House of Representatives in joint session to provide for the confirmation of two members of the State Board of Education. The following nominations have been received from the Governor:

- James Todd Chasteen Northwest Educational District: Alleghany, Ashe, Alexander, Avery, Burke, Caldwell, Catawba, McDowell, Mitchell, Watauga, Wilkes, and Yancey counties. (term to expire March 31, 2023)
- Amy Bannister White North Central Educational District: Chatham, Durham, Edgecombe, Franklin, Granville, Harnett, Johnston, Lee, Nash, Orange, Person, Vance, Wake, Warren, and Wilson counties. (term to expire March 31, 2023)

EFFECTIVE DATE: Senate Joint Resolution 902 will become effective upon ratification.



S 9 0 2 - S M T U - 9 5 E 1 - V - 2

Karen Cochrane-Brown Director Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578