

SENATE BILL 897: Asheville City Council Districts.

This Bill Analysis reflects the contents of the bill as it was presented in committee.

2016-2017 General Assembly

Committee:Senate RedistrictingDate:June 24, 2016Introduced by:Sen. ApodacaPrepared by:Erika ChurchillAnalysis of:First EditionCommittee Counsel

SUMMARY: Senate Bill 897 would establish electoral districts for the City Council of the City of Asheville, effective with the 2019 election cycle.

CURRENT LAW: The City Council of the Asheville consists of six members elected at large for four year terms and a mayor. Each odd numbered year, three members of the city council are elected.

BILL ANALYSIS: The bill would establish six single member districts for the six city council members, effective with the 2019 election cycle. The member would be required to reside in, and be elected from, that district. The districts are shown in the map "Senate Bill 897, Asheville City Council Districts."

In order to implement the districts, members of the City Council elected in 2017 would serve a two year term. The election of the mayor would remain unchanged.

EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2017.

