

SENATE BILL 878: Jonesville/Boonville/East Bend/Even-Yr Elec'n.

2016-2017 General Assembly

Committee:	Senate State and Local Government	Date:	June 6, 2016
Introduced by:	Sen. Krawiec	Prepared by:	Erika Churchill
Analysis of:	PCS to First Edition S878-CSTE-1		Committee Co-Counsel

SUMMARY: The proposed committee substitute for Senate Bill 878 would change the date of regular municipal elections in some of the municipalities of Yadkin County from odd-numbered years to even-numbered years.

CURRENT LAW & BILL ANALYSIS:

Four municipalities lie in the County of Yadkin: Boonville (Pop. 1,216), East Bend (Pop. 597), Jonesville (Pop. 2,256), and Yadkinville (Pop. 2,930).

<u>Section 1 – Town of Jonesville.</u>

CURRENT LAW: Regular municipal elections for the Mayor and City Council are held in odd-numbered years. The Mayor serves a four-year term, and five Council members serve staggered four-year terms. All Council members are elected at-large.

BILL ANALYSIS: The PCS would provide that the Mayor, whose term expires in 2017, and the Council members, whose terms expire in 2017 and 2019, all serve one additional year in office. Beginning in 2018, as terms expire, the Mayor and Council members would be elected in even-numbered years to serve four year, staggered terms.

Section 2 – Town of Boonville.

CURRENT LAW: Regular municipal elections for the Mayor and City Council are held in odd-numbered years. The Mayor serves a two-year term, and five Council members serve staggered four-year terms. All Council members are elected at-large.

BILL ANALYSIS: The PCS would provide that the Mayor, whose term expires in 2017, and the Council members, whose terms expire in 2017 and 2019, all serve one additional year in office. Beginning in 2018, as terms expire, the Mayor and Council members would be elected in even-numbered years to serve four year, staggered terms.

Karen Cochrane-Brown Director



Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578

This bill analysis was prepared by the nonpartisan legislative staff for the use of legislators in their deliberations and does not constitute an official statement of legislative intent.

Senate PCS 878

Page 2

Section 3 – Town of East Bend.

CURRENT LAW: Regular municipal elections for the Mayor and Board of Commissioners are held in odd-numbered years. The Mayor serves a two-year term. Four of the five Board members serve a four-year term, and one member a two-year term. All Board members are elected at-large.

BILL ANALYSIS: The PCS would provide that the Mayor, whose term expires in 2017, and the Council members, whose terms expire in 2017 and 2019, all serve one additional year in office. Beginning in 2018, as terms expire, the all of the Council members would be elected in even-numbered years for four year, staggered terms. Beginning in 2018, the Mayor would be elected in the even-numbered year for a two-year term.

EFFECTIVE DATE: Effective when it becomes law.