

SENATE BILL 218:Town of Franklin/Satellite Annexations

2015-2016 General Assembly

Committee: Senate Sequential Referral To Finance Added Date: April 28, 2015

Introduced by: Sen. J. Davis Prepared by: Kelly Tornow
Committee Counsel

SUMMARY: Senate Bill 218 would exempt the Town of Franklin from certain satellite annexation requirements.

CURRENT LAW: G.S. 160A-58.1 governs voluntary municipal annexation of noncontiguous property (i.e., voluntary satellite annexation). If all property owners in a satellite area petition a municipality for voluntary annexation of the noncontiguous property, the municipality may annex the property, if the following 5 requirements are met:

- 1. The nearest point on the proposed satellite corporate limits must be not more than 3 miles from the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.
- 2. No point on the proposed satellite corporate limits may be closer to the primary corporate limits of another city than to the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.
- 3. The area must be so situated that the annexing city will be able to provide the same services within the proposed satellite corporate limits that it provides within its primary corporate limits.
- 4. If the area proposed for annexation, or any portion thereof, is a subdivision as defined in G.S. 160A-376, all of the subdivision must be included.
- 5. The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed 10% of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.

BILL ANALYSIS: Senate Bill 218 would exempt the Town of Franklin from the requirement that all of the subdivision must be included if the area proposed for annexation is partially or wholly contained within a subdivision.

The bill would also add the Town of Franklin to the group of municipalities exempted from the 10% area cap on voluntary satellite annexation.

EFFECTIVE DATE: This act is effective when it becomes law.

BACKGROUND: The General Assembly has exempted at least 17 other municipalities from the fourth standard and at least 100 other municipalities from the fifth standard.

O. Walker Reagan Director



Research Division (919) 733-2578