

SENATE BILL 142: Cumberland County Civic Center Commission

2015-2016 General Assembly

Committee:House Local GovernmentDate:June 3, 2015Introduced by:Sens. Meredith, ClarkPrepared by:Giles S. Perry

Analysis of: Second Edition Committee Counsel

SUMMARY: Senate Bill 142 would reduce the number of members serving on the Cumberland County Civic Center Commission from 16 to 10 and would name the nine citizen members of the Commission.

CURRENT LAW: The Cumberland County Civic Center Commission consists of 16 members. Fifteen members of the Commission must be residents of Cumberland County and are appointed by the Board of County Commissions to serve for staggered three-year terms. The sixteenth member of the Commission is the County Manager, who serves in an ex officio, non-voting capacity.

The Commission's duties include:

- Establishing and managing a memorial fund for use in the construction, equipment, decoration, maintenance, and operation of the Civic Center.
- Advising the Board of County Commissioners in planning for and constructing the Civic Center.
- Operating the Civic Center facility under the terms and conditions established by the Board of County Commissioners.
- Studying, planning, and programming for the best use of the Civic Center.
- Making rules and regulations for the Commission's organization and management of the facilities, properties, and funds committed to its charge.
- Employing a manager and other employees.
- Contracting for, acquiring, holding, exchanging, transferring, and conveying property.

Fifty percent of the net proceeds of the occupancy tax for Cumberland County is allocated for the benefit of the Civic Center Commission (previously called the Memorial Auditorium Commission) to help finance major repairs, renovation, rehabilitation, and any other capital improvements to the Civic Center facility and any new additions, or to finance construction of new convention or multipurpose facilities in the County.

BILL ANALYSIS: Senate Bill 142 would reduce the number of Commission members from 16 to 10. Nine out of the 10 members must be residents of Cumberland County and the tenth member would be the County Manager of Cumberland County, who serves ex officio. Members of the Commission would serve three-year staggered terms. There are no term limits.

The provisions of this bill would not affect the terms of office of the following members of the Cumberland County Civic Center Commission or their successors who are holding office on the date this act becomes effective: Edith Bigler, Judy Dawkins, McBryde Grannis, Thaddeus T. Jenkins, Mark Lynch, William Tew, Jr., Elizabeth Varnedoe, Nat Robertson, and Robert C. Williams.

EFFECTIVE DATE: This act is effective when it becomes law.

Kelly Turnow, counsel to the Senate State and Local Government Committee, substantially contributed to this summary.

O. Walker Reagan Director



Research Division (919) 733-2578

Senate Bill 142 Page 2