

# **HOUSE BILL 527:**

This Bill Analysis reflects the contents of the bill as it was presented in committee.

# Municipal Elect'n/Even-Numbered Yrs/Stanly

2015-2016 General Assembly

Co

**Committee:** Local Government, if favorable, Elections, if **Date:** 

**Date:** April 23, 2015

favorable, Rules, Calendar, and Operations of

the House

Introduced by: Rep. Burr Prepared by: Kelly Tornow

Analysis of: PCS to First Edition Committee Counsel

H527-CSTH

SUMMARY: House Bill 527 would change the date of regular municipal elections in the municipalities of Stanly County from odd-numbered years to even-numbered years.

#### **Section 1 – City of Albemarle**

**CURRENT LAW:** Regular municipal elections for the Mayor and City Council are held in odd-numbered years. The Mayor serves a two-year term, and seven Council members serve staggered four-year terms. Three members are at-large and four members are elected from electoral districts.

**BILL ANALYSIS:** In 2015, the Mayor would serve a three-year term and would subsequently be elected in 2018 and every two years thereafter. In 2015, four Council members would serve a five-year term and would subsequently be elected in 2020 and every four years thereafter. The three members whose terms expire in 2017 would continue to serve until 2018 and their successors would be elected to serve a four-year term.

#### Section 2 - Town of Badin

**CURRENT LAW:** Regular municipal elections for the Town Council are held in odd-numbered years. The Badin Town Council has five members who serve staggered 4-year terms. Two members are elected from residency districts and three are elected at-large. The Town Council elects a Mayor from among its members, and the Mayor serves a two-year term.

**BILL ANALYSIS:** In 2015, two members would serve a five-year term and would subsequently be elected in 2020 and every four years thereafter. The three members whose terms expire in 2017 would continue to serve until 2018 and their successors would be elected to serve a four-year term. In 2015, the Mayor would serve a three year term and would subsequently be elected in 2018 and every two years thereafter.

#### Section 3 – Town of Locust

**CURRENT LAW:** Regular municipal elections for the Town Council and Mayor are held in odd-numbered years. The Mayor serves a two-year term, and seven Council members are elected at-large and serve four-year staggered terms.

**BILL ANALYSIS:** The Mayor elected in 2015 would serve a three-year term and would subsequently be elected in 2018 and every two years thereafter. In 2015, four Council members would serve a five-year term and would subsequently be elected in 2020 and every four years thereafter. The three members whose terms expire in 2017 would continue to serve until 2018 and their successors would be elected to serve a four-year term.

#### <u>Section 4 – Village of Misenheimer</u>

O. Walker Reagan
Director



Research Division (919) 733-2578

## House Bill 527

Page 2

**CURRENT LAW:** Regular municipal elections for the Village Council are held in odd-numbered years. The Council has five members who are elected at-large and serve staggered four-year terms. The Village Council elects a Mayor from among its members, and the Mayor serves a four-year term.

**BILL ANALYSIS:** In 2015, two members would serve a five-year term and would subsequently be elected in 2020 and every four years thereafter. The three members whose terms expire in 2017 would continue to serve until 2018 and their successors would be elected to serve a four-year term.

#### Section 5 – Town of New London

**CURRENT LAW:** Regular municipal elections for the Town Commissioners and Mayor are held in odd-numbered years. The Board has five members who are elected at-large and serve staggered four-year terms. The Mayor also serves a four-year term.

**BILL ANALYSIS:** The Mayor elected in 2015 would serve a five-year term and would subsequently be elected in 2020 and every four years thereafter. In 2015, three commissioners would serve a five-year term and would subsequently be elected in 2020 and every four years thereafter. The two members whose terms expire in 2017 would continue to serve until 2018 and their successors would be elected to serve a four-year term.

#### **Section 6 – Town of Norwood**

**CURRENT LAW:** Regular municipal elections for the Town Commissioners and Mayor are held in odd-numbered years. The Board has five members who are elected at-large and serve staggered four-year terms. The Mayor also serves a four-year term.

**BILL ANALYSIS:** The Mayor elected in 2015 would serve a five-year term and would subsequently be elected in 2020 and every four years thereafter. In 2015, three commissioners would serve a five-year term and would subsequently be elected in 2020 and every four years thereafter. The two commissioners whose terms expire in 2017 would continue to serve until 2018 and their successors would be elected to serve a four-year term.

#### Section 7 – Town of Oakboro

**CURRENT LAW:** Regular municipal elections for the Town Board and Mayor are held in odd-numbered years. The Board has five members who are elected at-large and serve staggered four-year terms. The Mayor serves a two-year term.

**BILL ANALYSIS:** The Mayor elected in 2015 would serve a three-year term and would subsequently be elected in 2018 and every two years thereafter. In 2015, three members of the Board would serve a five-year term and would subsequently be elected in 2020 and every four years thereafter. The two members whose terms expire in 2017 would continue to serve until 2018 and their successors would be elected to serve a four-year term.

#### <u>Section 8 – Town of Red Cross</u>

**CURRENT LAW:** Regular municipal elections for the Town Council and Mayor are held in odd-numbered years. The Council has four members who are elected at-large and serve staggered four-year terms. The Mayor also serves a four-year term.

**BILL ANALYSIS:** The Mayor elected in 2015 would serve a five-year term and would subsequently be elected in 2020 and every four years thereafter. In 2015, two Council members would serve a five-year term and would subsequently be elected in 2020 and every four years thereafter. The two members whose terms expire in 2017 would continue to serve until 2018 and their successors would be elected to serve a four-year term.

#### Section 9 – Town of Richfield

**CURRENT LAW:** Regular municipal elections for the Town Board of Commissioners and Mayor are held in odd-numbered years. The Board has five members who are elected at-large and serve staggered four-year terms. The Mayor also serves a four-year term.

### House Bill 527

Page 3

**BILL ANALYSIS:** The Mayor whose term expires in 2017 would continue to serve until 2018 and successors would be elected to serve a four-year term. In 2015, three Board members would serve a five-year term and would subsequently be elected in 2020 and every four years thereafter. The two members whose terms expire in 2017 would continue to serve until 2018 and their successors would be elected to serve a four-year term.

#### Section 10 - Town of Stanfield

**CURRENT LAW:** Regular municipal elections for the Town Board of Commissioners and Mayor are held in odd-numbered years. The Board has five members who are elected at-large and serve staggered four-year terms. The Mayor also serves a four-year term.

**BILL ANALYSIS:** The Mayor elected in 2015 would serve a five-year term and would subsequently be elected in 2020 and every four years thereafter. In 2015, three Board members would serve a five-year term and would subsequently be elected in 2020 and every four years thereafter. The two members whose terms expire in 2017 would continue to serve until 2018 and their successors would be elected to serve a four-year term.

**EFFECTIVE DATE:** This act is effective when it becomes law.