

HOUSE BILL 169:

This Bill Analysis reflects the contents of the bill as it was presented in committee.

Limit Motor Vehicle Emissions Inspections

2015-2016 General Assembly

Committee:House TransportationDate:March 17, 2015Introduced by:Reps. Hager, PresnellPrepared by:Wendy Graf RayAnalysis of:First EditionCommittee Counsel

SUMMARY: House Bill 169 would eliminate the following five counties from the list of counties in which motor vehicle emissions inspections are required: Burke, Haywood, Rutherford, Surry, and Wilkes.

CURRENT LAW: The State is required by the federal Clean Air Act to have an implementation plan to control air pollution. The State's plan includes a motor vehicle emissions inspection program. Pursuant to G.S. 143-215.107A, motor vehicle emissions inspections are performed only in covered counties. Emissions inspections are currently performed in 48 counties in North Carolina.

BILL ANALYSIS: House Bill 169 would delete Burke, Haywood, Rutherford, Surry, and Wilkes Counties from the list of counties requiring emissions inspections for motor vehicles.

EFFECTIVE DATE: The act would be effective the later of the following two dates: January 1, 2016, or the first day of the month that is 30 days after the Department of Environment and Natural Resources certifies that the US Environmental Protection Agency has approved the change.

BACKGROUND: S.L. 2013-413 directed the Department of Environment and Natural Resources to study whether all of the counties covered under the emissions program are needed to meet federal ozone standards in North Carolina. The Department is required to report its interim findings to the Environmental Review Commission by April 1, 2015. A final report is due on or before April 1, 2016.

