## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA **SESSION 2025**

Η

<b>H.B. 26</b>
Jan 29, 2025
HOUSE PRINCIPAL CLERK

## HOUSE BILL DRH40029-NNx-12

	Short Title: Town of Madison/Satellite Annexation. (Local)	)
-	Sponsors: Representative Pyrtle.	
-	Referred to:	_
1	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED	
2	AN ACT TO REMOVE THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE TOWN OF	
3	MADISON.	
4	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:	
5	<b>SECTION 1.</b> G.S. 160A-58.1(b) reads as rewritten:	
6 7	"(b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following standards:	
8		
9	(5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area	L
10	within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%)	1
11	of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.	
12	This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Archdale, Asheboro,	
13	Belmont, Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia,	
14	Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Kings Mountain, Locust, Lowell, Marion,	
15	Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke	
16	Rapids, Rockingham, Saluda, Sanford, Salisbury, Shelby, Southport,	
17	Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Apex, Ayden,	
18	Belville, Benson, Bladenboro, Bridgeton, Bunn, Burgaw, Calabash, Carthage,	
19	Catawba, China Grove, Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell,	
20	Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Franklin, Franklinton, Franklinville,	
21	Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Goldston, Granite Quarry, Green Level,	
22	Grimesland, Harrisburg, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Hookerton, Hope Mills,	
23	Huntersville, Jamestown, Kenansville, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Laurel	
24 25	Park, Liberty, Lillington, Louisburg, <u>Madison</u> , Maggie Valley, Maiden,	
25 26	Mayodan, Maysville, Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount	
20 27	Pleasant, Nashville, North Wilkesboro, Norwood, Oak Island, Oakboro, Ocean Isle Beach, Pembroke, Pine Level, Pollocksville, Princeton, Ramseur,	
27		
28 29	Ranlo, Richlands, Rockwell, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Siler City, Smithfield, Spencer, Spring Lake, Stanley, Stem, Stovall, Surf City,	
30	Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troutman, Troy, Vass, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha,	
30	Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, West Jefferson, Wilson's Mills, Windsor,	
32	Wingate, Yadkinville, Youngsville, and Zebulon."	
33	<b>SECTION 2.</b> This act is effective when it becomes law.	



D